the hubster will never leave me

I like to think of myself as the perfect wife.

I carry out my daily wife/mother duties without any fussing whining. 

I may mention occasionally that I dislike the fact that the hubster leaves his stuff on my counter.   Or that I detest the fact that he leaves his clothes on the floor….two feet from the basket.  I may even occasionally state that I dislike the fact that he tracks my floors up instead of removing his boots when he gets home. 

But I still think that I am the perfect wife.  Why do I have this mentality?

blog photos 681

It has something to do with this.

blog photos 682

And a little of this.

blog photos 691

Which ends up being this.  Two of the hubster’s favorites in one.  Brownies & Toffee!

blog photos 692

English Toffee Brownies

  • 1 stick butter (room temperature)
  • 1/2c turbinado sugar
  • 2 eggs (room temperature)
  • 1t vanilla extract
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • 1/3c cocoa powder
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1/2c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/4c toffee pieces
  1. Preheat oven to 350 & spray an 8×8 pan with non-stick spray
  2. Combine the butter, sugar, eggs, and vanilla in mixing bowl until combined
  3. Mix the dry ingredients into a separate bowl
  4. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients
  5. Stir in the toffee pieces, pour and spread into pan, and bake for approximately 30 minutes
  6. Top with additional toffee pieces

blog photos 693

That is why the hubster thinks that I am the perfect wife.  I also help me get fabulous date nights such as last night 🙂

blog photos 683

We dined at the local restaurant, Tope La.  It has gourmet food served in an elegant yet casual atmosphere.  The chef serves French-American cuisines with his own personal “cajun” twist.  This.  Place.  Is.  Amazing.

blog photos 686

A little wine to start things off.

blog photos 684

Of course they had a wonderful Valentine’s Day menu for us to choose from.  I was torn between one of the specials or one of my favorite salads.  They offer a grilled vegetable salad and a seafood salad, which both are the bomb!

blog photos 685

I went with a V-Day special 🙂

blog photos 687

Salads with cane syrup – fresh herb vinaigrette (the best dressing ever) to start.

blog photos 688

Grilled tuna on artichoke cake topped with spinach, grilled mushrooms, onions, and red pepper, with a drizzle of olive oil and balsamic reduction.

blog photos 689

The hubster enjoyed the swordfish with crawfish-shrimp tasso cream and baby snap peas.

Now for the star of the evening:

blog photos 690

Strawberry Shortcake for Two

I could have danced on the table when I saw this dessert.  A wonderful shortcake with sliced strawberries and creme anglaise with chocolate covered strawberries.  I love shortcake 🙂

Come to think of it, I still may dance on the table just looking at this picture.  Now the only thing left to do is to get some grocery items and recreate this to the best of my ability, look out world she’s on a mission  🙂 

Our date night ended with a little t.v. at home.  Due to a wait time at the restaurant we couldn’t make the early viewing of a movie.  Once dinner was done we had to wait about two hours for the late viewing.  Needless to say we knew we wouldn’t be able to stay awake long enough for that.  Back at home we spent some nice quite time together sans kiddos. 

Oh to sleep with no interruptions and until my eyes open on their own is all a girl could wish for on  Valentine’s weekend 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under baking, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER

2 responses to “the hubster will never leave me

  1. yup you are the perfect wife. Making delicious desserts AND letting the mate track the boots across the floor. I’ll marry you.

  2. Ohmygosh that tuna looks heavenly! Such a great couple! =) He’s lucky to have ya! and those brownies!!!

Leave a Reply

