Berrylicious

I may (or may not) be the best mom in the world.

Of course I know that you will probably argue this point with me and claim to be the best mom in the world yourself.

It’s okay —> I’ll proudly share that title with you.

But if you are the best mom in the world then you have probably spent more money than necessary on Valentine’s candy and gifts for your two sons to take to school to share with their friends and teachers.  Which also requires you to wake up a little early on a Monday morning to pack everything up and make sure it is all ready for the parties.

blog photos 700blog photos 653

And you probably agreed to leave the house a little early on Tuesday morning so you can take the boys to get doughnut for breakfast.  Not just any doughnut but chocolate at that. 

Now don’t fuss at me just yet.  The boys decided to trade in their Monday evening fro-yo trip for Valentine’s day in favor of doughnuts for breakfast.  So in a sense this was their Valentine’s treat.

blog photos 709blog photos 710

And of course you would probably agree to wake up a little early on Wednesday morning so you could make a breakfast that has been requested from said boys.

 blog photos 715

Just be sure to sub in chocolate chips for blueberries for the oldest one.  Yep, today is going to be a berry good day!

Blueberry Pancakes

  • 1/4c whole wheat flour
  • 1T cornmeal
  • 1T flaxseed
  • 1.5t baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1t cinnamon
  • dash of nutmeg
  • squeeze of lemon juice
  • 1/2t vanilla
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 2T blueberry yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 + 1T of almond milk
  • 1/4c blueberries

Mix all ingredients in a small bowl until well combined.  Spray you griddle with non-stick spray and cook until golden brown on both sides.  Top with more mixed berries and maple syrup.

blog photos 714 

 blog photos 716

AM.AZ.ING!

The yogurt and banana in this batter gave it just the right amount of sweetness.  The pancakes were great with the syrup, but could easily be a tasty breakfast without it (you know just in case your watching your sugar in take).

You must make this for your next breakfast.  Or better yet make them tonight,  go ahead they make a fabulous dinner, I don’t mind.  Just be sure to let me know what time you will be serving them.  I come equipped with my own plate, knife & fork.  I promise.  I will even take my dirty dishes with me when I go 🙂 

For now I must go spend some quality time with my two munchkins and convince them that I am not waking up early for anything tomorrow.  I shall sleep until my usual “wake up” time, or at least that’s what I am hoping for.

I will leave you with this….could you say no to someone that adorable?

blog photos 717

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Berrylicious

  1. I could definitely not say no to someone who is that adorable!!!

    I spend too much money on all of Adam’s school parties–somehow I always end up doing goodie bags, crafts, and games!

    We’ll be sleeping in tomorrow since Adam has a break for President’s Day weekend!!! You too? I can’t wait! 🙂

  2. OH I would have a HaRd time FOR sure saying no to that precious boy! And you are definitely the sweetest mom! When you make those pancakes, I’ll gladly join in on family dinner lol 🙂

    And sleeping in…I didn’t even know there was such a thing? I think I must alert my daughter of this 🙂

  3. awwww you’re such an amazing mom! =) I can’t wait to have kids someday! I’m going to spoil them rotten.

    but only if they like vegetables =) if not they are on their own!

Leave a Reply

