the big 5-0

I like to tell every one that I am an independent and secure woman.  Many people ask how I can claim to be independent if I am married.  Yes, I am married.  But still very independent.  Sure I depend on the husband for such things as oil changes and lawn mowing ( I am after all very much a girly girl), but I do know how to take my car to a service center.  Or how to hire the kid next door to cut my grass.  After all I wasn’t always married. 

To further verify my independence the hubster and I have separate accounts.  We have separate bills and we pay them separately.  Don’t knock it.  It just works for us.  My colleagues like to joke with me and say that we really are just room mates as opposed to man and wife.  This could possibly be true.  After all we did marry in Jamaica so technically there is no record of our marriage in the US! 

I wonder if I can get away with that excuse if I ever need it?  Just kidding.

Anyway, yes I am an independent woman.  But I am still very much a Daddy’s girl!

blog photos 734

Today was my dad’s 50th birthday 🙂

blog photos 741

I baked his cake – it is my grandma’s recipe – with the most decadent old fashion fudge icing!  You  must make this icing.  Go ahead start it now.  You can use it for just about anything.  Or you could just spoon it onto parchment paper and let it “dry” into nice chunks of fudge.  It is to die for!  Very decadent and very much a splurge 🙂

Old Fashion Fudge Frosting

  • 1.5c sugar
  • 7T milk
  • 1/4t salt
  • 2T shortening
  • 2T butter
  • 1/2c cocoa
  • 1t vanilla
  1. Combine sugar, cocoa, milk, shotening, butter, and salt in heavy saucepan.
  2. Bring to a tolling boil, stirring constantly.  Once it reaches a boil, allow to boil without stirring for two minutes, no more!
  3. Remove from heat and add vanilla.
  4. Stir until cooled just slightly. 
  5. Spoon over cake

blog photos 746

The hubster grilled some burgers, sausage, chicken, and pork chops.  Mom made some potato salad and baked beans.  But my cake was the star of the show 🙂

blog photos 743 blog photos 744

blog photos 745 blog photos 740

blog photos 742

My oldest brother contributed a king cake for the celebration.  Oh yeah, it’s carnival time!!

It was a wonderful celebration.  I am such a daddy’s girl!

blog photos 739

blog photos 747blog photos 749

I even robbed his vegetable stash.  I scored some turnips, sweet potatoes, and carrots.  Can’t wait for him to plant in the spring.  Yep, my daddy loves me!

Now if you will excuse me I must go plan out my meals for the week.  I surely need a nice week of cleansing, natural foods in my system after that decadent piece of cake today.

9 Comments

Filed under baking, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, Uncategorized

9 responses to “the big 5-0

  1. aww happy birthday to him!

    I have separate everything from my hubs too! Roomies with benefits =) haha

  2. You and your hubs sound just like my bf and myself! We live together but we’re each very independent! It just works better that way! 🙂

    Happy Birthday to your Dad! That’s so great that he has a veggie garden!! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Simply….Me | Helen, Naturally!

  4. Happy Birthday to your Dad! Told you, I’d come looking for that frosting recipe 🙂

    P.S. Who found the baby in the king cake??

  5. Pingback: Happenings of 2011 | Helen, Naturally!

  6. Pingback: I made a cake | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

