I’m New – Da Ba Dee Da Ba Di

Well aren’t I just the queen of try all things new today!  Why, yes I am the queen.  Just ask my husband, he will laugh at agree with me 🙂

You know sometimes you just want to have something new in your life.  Since I can’t have new kids or a new husband (I really wouldn’t want new ones), and I can’t have new clothes, shoes, or hand bags (I really would love to have some), I decided to settle on new food!

This mornings breakfast was a completely different breakfast food for me.  Usually I stick with oats or pancakes and just change the variation.  This morning I decided to give some bulgar wheat a try. 

What bulgar wheat for breakfast?  Yes it is possible.  It is good.  It is filling.  I will do this again 🙂

I cooked the bulgur wheat last night and placed in the fridge to help speed things a long this morning.  Just follow package directions on cooking the amount you would like to use.

blog photos 760

Cinnamon Raisin Bulgar Wheat

  • 1/3 cup bulgur wheat (cooked night before)
  • 1/4c almond milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • cinnamon
  • raisins

Place the cooked bulgur wheat, milk, and banana into your blender and blend just a little.  This will help to “cream” the mixture.  Then place it into a bowl and pop in the microwave to heat.  Mix in the cinnamon and raisins.  Top with more raisins, peanut butter, and a splash of almond milk.  Enjoy!

I did enjoy this breakfast but I am thinking it would be better as a savory breakfast as opposed to sweet.  I believe that is the route I will go the next time I eat this.

blog photos 761blog photos 762

So several of you guys were curious about the trial mix bar from Pure Bar.  Well I tried that one today since I had more comments on it than the others.  It. Was. A-MAZ-ING.!  If you are a raisin lover then this is for you.  You can see and taste the nuts in the bar as well.  I really love the fact that it is a chewy bar so I was able to eat it easily, even with the braces 🙂 

blog photos 763

Next up is the pineapple chobani yogurt.  If you are a fan of tangy yogurts, then this one may be for you.  I like them tangy or slightly sweet.  However, I was not impressed by this flavor.  I really couldn’t taste much pineapple and it didn’t contain as much fruit chunks as some of the others I have tried. 

Now for the one thing I am super excited to share with you guys!  My dinner 🙂

I love different ethnic foods.  The hubster, not a big fan of most.  I was craving some Indian food tonight but no Indian restaurant nearby to grab  some grub.  So I hopped into the kitchen for a little test run of my skills.

blog photos 765

Coconut Curry Chickpea w/ Couscous

  • 1/2 small onion diced
  • 1/4c diced green bell pepper
  • 2T butter
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 3T tomato paste
  • 3/4c coconut milk
  • 1/2T corriander
  • 1/2t cumin
  • 1/2t turmeric
  • 1t curry powder
  • 1/4t cayenne pepper
  • 1/4t sea salt
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 1/2c water to thin
  1. Heat sauté pan over medium low heat.  Melt the butter and saute the onion and bell pepper until tender. 
  2. Add in the garlic and sauté until fragrant. 
  3. Add in the tomato paste and stir to coat all of the onions and peppers.  Now press the mixture flat in the pan and turn the heat up to medium.  Step away.  You need to allow the tomato paste to develop it’s amazing flavor.  This takes a few minutes.  When you see a crust beginning to form on the bottom, then it has been long enough.  Turn the heat to low
  4. Stir in the milk and seasonings.  Add the chickpeas and water to thin.  Cook on low until the chickpeas are heated.
  5. Stir in about 1/4c of raisins. 
  6. Serve over couscous with a dollop of plain yogurt on top

blog photos 764

I have to admit I was a little nervous while doing this since I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  It is awesome.  Seriously you need to make this.  Tonight!  It is easy and quick with lots of flavors.  I could totally eat my weight in this dish 🙂

You have to add the yogurt on top as well.  It really makes a difference in the flavor experience.  If you aren’t a fan of plain yogurt you can use sour cream.  Also, do not omit the raisins.  It may seem odd at first but that slightly sweet bite with the spice is the perfect combination 🙂

There you have it.  My day of all things new.  Oh and by the way, those new chocolaty o’s by Cascadian Farm.  They are the perfect bedtime snack 🙂

Don’t forget to enter for my giveaway!

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

3 responses to “I’m New – Da Ba Dee Da Ba Di

  1. Awww nooo.. I just bought the pineapple one too! I hope I at least somewhat like it. I love all their other flavors! ❤ Maybe i'll pawn that one off on the hubs =) so evil!

    I totally trust you and bookmarked this to make later! love curry! love chickpeas… and will totally sub quinoa for the cous cous cause i'm baller like that =) haha thanks for the recipe, i''ll let you know how it turns out!

    mwah!

  2. I love Indian food (and chickpeas) so your coconut curry chickpea is calling my name!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

