Pancakes & Winners

Guess what today is?  No it’s not my birthday.  No it’s not my anniversary.  No it’s not one of my kids birthdays or the hubsters.  It is Saturday!

Of course you already knew that, so why the excitement.  Because in this house Saturday is pancake day 🙂

This mornings creation was inspired by a recipe from the Eat, Drink, and be Vegan recipe book.  Yep, I finally purchased it, on my kindle.

Raspberry Cornmeal Pancakes is the title of the recipe in the book.  However, I like to call mine:

blog photos 769

Power Packed Pancakes

  • 2T whole wheat flour
  • 2T cornmeal
  • 1T oat bran
  • 1T flaxseed
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4c almond milk
  • 1t vanilla
  • zest from 1/2 lemon
  1. Preheat your griddle to 300.  Or just use a pan on medium low.
  2. Mix dry ingredients together.  Make a well and add the wet ingredients.  Stir to combine all ingredients.
  3. Spray griddle with non stick spray
  4. Cook until nice and brown on each side
  5. Serve with your choice of toppings

Now I did add in raspberries to my recipe, since I purchased some while grocery shopping last night, but you could easily substitute anything for them.  I topped my pancakes with a few more raspberries, walnut pieces, and maple syrup.

blog photos 768

No sugar was added to the mixture since I was eating my pancakes with maple.  If you want a sweet pancake, or if you are eating them without sweet toppings, feel free to add a tablespoon or two of sugar.

Did you notice that ingredient list.  Talk about a nutrient power house!  These babies kept me full for several hours 🙂

blog photos 770

Earlier today I tried out another of the pure bars.  I went with the apple cinnamon one this time.  It was a great flavor.  You could taste a good balance between the apples and the cinnamon.  It was loaded with lots of nut pieces as well.  Unfortunately for me this bar wasn’t as soft as some of the previous ones due to so many nuts in it.  It was difficult for me to chew, this is due to the braces, but for a nut lover this is perfect.  I highly recommend this flavor 🙂

Now for the moment you have all been waiting for, the three lucky winners for the pure bar giveaway:

#3 – wifemomwoman

#6 – Cristina

#4 – Joanna

I am sorry that I do not have a pic of the generator.  For some reason I can’t get my computer to do a screen shot, and when I tried to use my camera for a pic it was really blurry 😦

Congratulations ladies, email me – helennaturally(at)gmail(dot)com with your information and I will forward it to pure bar.  Thanks to all of you that entered the giveaway.  Look for a few more coming soon 🙂

Hope you are enjoying your Saturday 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pancakes & Winners

  1. Happy Saturday! what a fabulous pancake recipe! thanks girl! I’ve been a little pancake monster as of lately and can’t get enough! ❤

    Hope your sunday rocks too! ❤

  2. Yeah 🙂 I love you blog! Thanks for the healthy eating inspiration.

Leave a Reply

