need a quick dinner idea?

You are in luck because I’ve got one 🙂

It has been an eventful day for some of us in the family.  Kohl and I attended a preschool parade at the local Headstart.  I guess I should say Kohl attended.  I service the babies at that center so I technically was working today, but hey who can complain about having a parade at work!

After the parade we ventured over to the local doughnut shop.  I know, doughnuts = bad!  But we didn’t have doughnuts.  Nope, instead we had a lovely piece of king cake.  Kohl enjoyed his so much he asked for me to bring one home.  I had to regretfully tell him that wasn’t happening. 

kohl

He wasn’t too happy about that.  I will be bringing one of those babies home tomorrow!

It was another evening of ball practice for the boys today.  As you all know, this requires reservations a quick dinner!

Even if it isn’t a practice or game day I love a quick dinner.  Who wants to spend their entire evening in the kitchen at the stove?  Now give me a Saturday in the kitchen to cook and bake – I’m a happy girl.  But after working all day and then working out at the gym, I really just want some time to relax.

blog photos 774

Spinach & Artichoke Pasta

  • 1/2 small box of pasta shells
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/4c diced onion
  • 2T olive oil
  • 1 cans of artichoke hearts, drained and cut in half
  • 1/2 cup milk of choice
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan
  • 2c baby spinach leaves
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. Cook your pasta in salted water until al dente.  Drain and set aside.
  2. Heat the oil over medium-low heat and sauté the onion until translucent.  Add the garlic and sauté another minute.
  3. Add in the artichoke hearts and cook until browning.
  4. Pour the milk and cheese into the pan and stir until cheese melts.
  5. Add the spinach to the pan and cook until wilted.  Season with salt & pepper.
  6. Add the pasta to the mixture and toss to coat well.

blog photos 773

Dinner is served!  Now of course many of you will more than likely use this as a side dish.  This is exactly what the hubster did.  He has a nice link of smoked venison sausage with his serving of pasta.  I on the other hand has a hugh jass salad to accompany mine.

You can also adjust the amount of cheese used in the recipe to suit your taste.  I am fine with the amount used, the hubster is a cheese addict.  So needless to say he poured sprinkled more on top of his pasta.

This recipe probably took me all of 10-15 minutes to throw together.  You can’t get any quicker than that.  Unless of course you are going to make reservations, which in that case you just need to tell me where to meet you at and I’ll be there!

3 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

3 responses to “need a quick dinner idea?

  1. Quick dinners are the best! Somedays the faster the better. Oh and P.S. I have never had kings cake 😦

  2. It never ceases to amaze me when people have NO idea what a King Cake is. My mom just ordered one from a bakery in the French Quarter for $48!! I guess we’re passionate about our King Cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

