rain, coffee, new hair color, movies

That pretty much sums up my Saturday!

If yesterday was all about the cake.  Today is all about the cleanse because I am feeling the affects from so much sugar.  I never actually made a meal for last night’s dinner.  Instead I snacked my way through it.  Something I very rarely do, now I remember why.

I woke up dying of starvation super hungry this morning.  I am always hungry in the mornings, but I can usually make it at least 45 minutes before the famish sets in.  This morn, I think the hunger is what actually woke me up.  But hey, no problem, because today is pancake day 🙂

Let’s take a walk on the wild tropical side!

blog photos 790

Mango Pancakes

  • 2T coconut flour
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1T chia seeds
  • dash of salt
  • dash of vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4c coconut milk
  • 1/4c mango
  1. Place the egg & egg whites in a blender and blend for about 30 seconds
  2. Add in the remaining ingredients and blend for another 30 seconds.  Allow mixture to sit for about 5 minutes
  3. Preheat your pan or griddle.  Spray with non stick spray
  4. Cook until nice and golden of both sides
  5. Top with coconut butter and diced mango

blog photos 791

The mango in the mix gave the cakes a nice sweetness so no sugar is required.  This also helped me omit the need for syrup on top.  Now of course you may add syrup if you want, but for me I am staying away from sweeteners due to overdose of sugar for the past couple of days.  I am only taking sugar in the form of fruits for now.  If you want to add maple or honey then go right ahead 🙂

Today is another rainy day for me 😦

I did make it to my hair appointment and back before the down pour started….barely.  I have a more natural hair color for me now!  This I do play around with periodically.  I have been getting blonde (as in bleach blonde) highlights in my hair for a while now.  Which was making it too blonde, so I have slowly been adding in some low lights.  This mornings trip finally has me at a nice honey blonde level, which is really close to my natural color.  Now unfortunately the style looks horrible right now because of getting wet in the rain.  So a picture will have to wait until tomorrow!

Now that I am back home I am enjoying a nice cup of coffee (my second for the day!) and some Netflix.  This rain is making me so lazy/sleepy.  Hopefully I will get some energy in me by dinner time.  We are out of leftovers, I will have to cook for sure!

Happy Saturday!

p.s.  two new winners for the pure bar giveaway are:  #2 – jenn @ peas & crayons and # 10 lawfullyweddedwife.  Ladies I will need you to email me your info at helennaturally@gmail.com.

Congrats!

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

One response to “rain, coffee, new hair color, movies

  1. I always get low lights and highlights! If it’s getting too blonde, then I just do low lights to break it up! 🙂

    We’ve had snow here today! Ah, seriously–last week’s weather was a tease!

Leave a Reply

