OCD….neurosis, you be the judge

Mornings:  I thought I ended things with you months ago??  Why are you still hanging around?

McSteamy:  So glad I have my affair with you, keep those hot steaming cups of joe coming my way 🙂

blog photos 793

We’ll get to that in a moment….

I am a crazy, neurotic very clean & organized person.  Many people tell me that I suffer from OCD.  While there are times that I will agree with them, I would like to inform you that I do not have a true OCD, just saying!

You see I am the type that has to have everything in it’s place.  I do mean everything!  Oh and I hate/ despise clutter of any sorts.

Some of my greatest pet peeves:

  1. Do not lay things on my counter – that is not what my kitchen counters are for.  I do not believe when someone developed the idea of a kitchen they intended people to use the space for hats, wallets, keys, papers, mail, toys, pencils, etc.  Nope that is not what those babies are for.  They are for me.  For space to use while prepping and cooking.  When I am not in the kitchen, they are to be clean, polished and just looking good!
  2. Do not leave your items laying on my floor – I can’t get workman’s comp for breaking a leg in my own house.  Not to mention, it’s just an eye sore.  This includes your shoes – yeah I know I say take them off at the door so you don’t track up the floor but you know what, closets were made for a reason!
  3. Keep the toys in the toy box – just because it’s a play room doesn’t mean you can leave your “play items” lying all around.  Last time I checked we had a large toy box.  A full size dresser that has drawers in it to hold your art, games, board games, controllers, and puzzles in.  Oh yeah and there is a book shelf for a reason.  Not to mention the twin bed that you use to sit on to play your games that also houses smaller toys in the bottom drawers of it!
            1. Let me elaborate a little – the boys use to have separate rooms but they basically will not sleep in them.  We finally  combined them into one bed room with a full bed, and use the other room for the play/game room.
  4. Do not leave your dirty clothes on my floor.  We have baskets for a reason.  Three to be exact.  One for colors, one for whites, and one for me!  There is no reason that I should find socks in your bedroom.  Or towels left on the bathroom floor when the basket is two feet away (the hubster!)
  5. Do not leave dirty dishes in my sink – you know who you are!  This is one I hate.  I wake up early enough every morning to unload my dishwasher so I can place my breakfast dishes in it.  I can’t stand dishes in my sink.  Go to bed with dirty dishes – not happening, and yes I have been known to stand in the kitchen in the middle of the night (or 2-3 a.m.) loading the dish washer after a party of some sorts.  So I simply ask that you place your dish into the dishwasher when finished.  If the dishwasher is full or already running.  Um we do have soap and sponges – wash the darn thing!
  6. Do not, I repeat do not leave something spilt on my floor.  Have the courtesy to clean your mess and not with a dry towel.  Use a wet towel and a little soap so I don’t stick to the floor when I walk by!
  7. Do not “unmake” my beds.  Again I make sure I get up early enough every morning to make both our bed as well as the boys.  Leave it that way until we go to sleep! 
  8. If you are going to do laundry.  Then do the darn laundry.  This includes folding/hanging and putting the clothes away.  Please do not leave the clothes in the dryer for me to fold when I discover that they are there.  Not only is that cruel to me but I have to use more energy in order to fluff them and remove wrinkles.  Hello electricity isn’t free didn’t you know!  Oh and don’t leave them pilled on the table, dryer, or hanging in the laundry closet.  If you get them out of the dryer, put them where they go!
  9. Do not leave yucky stuff in my bathroom sink.  This includes remnants of your toothpaste, hair from shaving, dirt from washing hands, whatever.  Just rinse the darn sink out after you finish.  I like things to look nice and clean 🙂
  10. Now let’s talk hoarding shall we.  With the exception of serving platters (some are specifically for b-day parties which only happen once a year), your wedding dress, shoes, and handbags (of course), if you haven’t used it in say six months.  You. Don’t. Need. It.  Man I wish I could get some people I know to get this (clears throat – mother-n-law). I hate clutter!  I hate hoarding!  I know they are harsh words but the more you keep the more your house looks junked up.  I use the six month rule.  Yes I use this with small appliances too.  I mean if something has been sitting in a cabinet/closet for six months or more, are you really going to use it?

So there you have it.  A run down of my pet peeves when it comes to my house.  So you tell me, is it OCD, neurosis (this makes me laugh), or some other wacked out crazy disorder.  Help me out here, I am really trying to convince explain to the hubster that I truly am not crazy! 

Now that we have our morning lecture/discussion out of the way, let’s talk breakfast.  Come on you guys had to know that I had something good up my sleeve!

blog photos 792

I love to eat grilled sandwiches.  Grilled fruit and cheese, one of my favs.   I have been known to throw down an apple and cheese grilled sammie very quickly.  But let’s take this to the next level shall we.  After all it is breakfast 🙂

blog photos 794

Pear & Mozzarella Stuffed French Toast

  • 2 slices cinnamon raisin Ezekiel bread
  • 1/2 small pear, sliced thin
  • shredded mozzarella cheese
  • juice sweetened jam (I use Crofter’s juice sweetened super fruit spread…..awesome!)
  • 1 egg white
  • 1T almond milk
  • cinnamon
  • vanilla
  • coconut butter
  1. Preheat griddle and spray with non-stick spray
  2. Mix the egg white, milk, vanilla, and cinnamon in a shallow dish
  3. Spread the jam on one slice of the bread, layer pair slices, layer on the cheese, and place 2nd slice of bread on top.
  4. Carefully dip each side of the bread in the egg mixture.
  5. Grill until golden brown on both sides and cheese melts
  6. Top with coconut butter.

blog photos 797

You can use maple syrup to top if you choose.  I am still eliminating sugars from my foods with the exception of fruits, so I opted for coconut butter.  Of course the jam gives this meal plenty of sweetness on it’s own.

I had a lovely little fried egg with salsa (those that really know me, know I can’t eat an egg plain) on the side.  The perfect breakfast in my book.  Protein, carbs, healthy fats – what’s not to love.

You must try this.  Even if you eat it without the egg dip as a grilled sandwich only.  It is delish!

And it is the perfect breakfast for a person with OCD, neurosis, or whatever 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

4 responses to “OCD….neurosis, you be the judge

  1. That sandwich looks delish! You are not crazy, I think you are just what I like to call particular–which is of course not a bad thing. My hubs is the exact same way. As our premarital counselor once told us, “Some people just need to have a place for everything and everything in its place, which is okay.” I think it’s a great quality, my house would be a lot cleaner and more organized if I was like that! Embrace it! 😀

  2. ohmygooooooooooooosh Helen this looks so so soooo good!

    and I completely understand each and every one of these pet peeves! The countertops right now are my “battle” that i’ve chose to really lash out on with the hubs. I melt down when I walk downstairs and see a pile of man-junk all over my just-cleared kitchen countertops. argh!

  3. Uhhh, that sandwich is to die for!

  4. Pingback: ball game eats: part I | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

