meet my kitchen fairy

I think it is safe to say that I like to play with my food.  And by play  with my food I mean using various textures, ingredients, etc.  Not literally play with my food.

Okay I sometimes do that too.  Sometimes one can’t help acting like a two year old dissecting your food to make sure that it is safe to eat.  Someone could have entered my kitchen while I was not looking and played added to my food.  I have my eyes on you mister!

That being said, I played with my food this morning!

I love oatmeal.  Anyone who truly knows me, or reads this blog, knows that I love oatmeal.  This is my go to breakfast nearly every morning in some form.  So of course I had to mix things up a little bit this morn.  As in trail mix!

blog photos 786

Trail Mix Oats

  • basic banana oats recipe – found on the recipe page!
  • trail mix

Simple really.  You cook your oats however you like them – or oat bran, cream of wheat, whatever fancies you – then you leave them sitting on the counter.  When you return to the kitchen, you have trail mix on top of your oats!

Really it’s that simple.  It doesn’t matter that your plans were to top your oats with coconut butter, peanut butter, and raisins.  All that matters is that you left the small bag of trail mix that you packed for snack sitting by your bowl of oats when you walked out of the kitchen.  Don’t forget that step it is the most important one.

Then your little helper kitchen fairy swoops in, pours the bag of trail mix on top, and swoops out.  Because you know he or she was just really trying to help you make your breakfast. 

blog photos 785

I am wondering if that little kitchen fairy will not only figure out something quick and easy for an in the car snack, but perhaps that little fairy will pack that for me too! 

No such snack was packed and waiting for me.  So now I am hoping that my kitchen fairy will perhaps have something for dinner tonight? 

But I doubt it since my little kitchen fairy has ball practice 🙂

blog photos 462

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

12 responses to “meet my kitchen fairy

  1. Aww, I would like a little kitchen fairy please!! 🙂

  2. Awwwwwwwww!
    I want a kitchen fairy too!
    😀

  3. Your little kitchen fairy is adorable!

  4. So cute!!! I hope one day I have a kitchen fairy of my own! 🙂

  5. Such an adorable kitchen fairy! Those are the best to have!

  6. can I borrow your adorable little helper? and i’ll take a bowl of oats puhllllease! ❤

    MWAH!

  7. Pingback: 7 | Helen, Naturally!

  8. Pingback: Happenings of 2011 | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

