head for the border

Want to see what I had for breakfast this morning?

Do you want to see?

Of course you do – don’t call me names, laugh, or tease.  If you do I just may have to dish it back out!

blog photos 833

Pumpkin Protein Packed Overnight Oats In A Jar

Wow what a name, or as I like to refer to it – Triple P overnight oiaj.

I must admit that I still had a can of pumpkin left from the holidays so I decided I better go ahead and use it.  Let’s just claim that this is my “orange you glad it’s spring” breakfasts – mmk!

In the mix:

  • 1/4c greek yogurt
  • 1/4c pumpkin
  • 1/3c oats
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1T flax
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1T Nuttzo
  • 1/3 c almond milk
  • 1/3 c water
  • 1/2t almond extract
  • few drops of vanilla stevia
  • 1/8c chopped nuts and fruits from trail mix

Lots of good stuff in there 🙂

I will continue with some of my “orange you glad it’s spring” breakfasts through out the week – maybe a snack or two 🙂

I have to admit that as sucky as my Monday was, I am soo glad it was yesterday and not today.  Today was crazy busy!  Here is a glimpse into my work day.

Today’s to do list:

  • breakfast – check (don’t laugh this is on my to do list daily)
  • Headstart – check
  • progress reports – check
  • IEP – 1/2 check, got to finish this tomorrow
  • screenings – check, more tomorrow
  • ESY paper work – not happening today ** due on Friday**
  • write out tomorrow’s to do list – check
  • ball practice x 2 – check
  • head for the border – check & check

I interrupt this schedule to bring you this:

  • venison enchiladas
  • Mexican fiesta salad w/ avocado dressing

blog photos 837

Venison Enchiladas

  • taco seasoning
  • 1 lb ground venison
  • 1 can enchilada sauce
  • shredded cheese

Yep, I used the short cut method on these and purchased the pre-mixed taco seasoning.  Just be sure to get the low sodium mix.  Topped with some plain greek yogurt and salsa.

blog photos 835

Mexican Fiesta Salad w/ avocado dressing

  • spinach or lettuce of choice
  • 1/2 can corn kernels
  • 1/2 can black beans, rinsed & drained
  • diced tomato
  • 1/2 avocado, diced
  • diced red onion, may omit
  • 1/2 avocado mashed
  • 3T greek yogurt
  • 3T salsa
  • 1/4t garlic powder
  • 1/2t onion powder
  • salt & pepper to taste
  1. layer your salad with the spinach, corn, beans, tomato, avocado, and onion.
  2. mix the other 1/2 avocado, lemon juice, yogurt, and salsa in small bowl. 
  3. pour dressing over salad and enjoy

blog photos 836

Now all I need is a beach, margarita, spf, and a lounge chair 🙂

On second thought I may not even need the lounge chair if the margaritas flow freely!

Happy fiesta!

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, Uncategorized

7 responses to “head for the border

  1. I won’t laugh at you for putting breakfast on your list if you won’t laugh when I say I have NO idea what venison is. Okay, I wouldn’t laugh anyways because that’s the first thing on my to-do list everyday too.

  2. I must make that avocado dressing–sounds delicious! Sounds like you rocked your to-do list!! 🙂

  3. 1. I NEED that salad! and 2. you should totally link this up to what I ate wednesday! gorgeousness! ❤

  4. I’m going to have to try that OIAJ recipe; looks awesome! And don’t worry- “breakfast” is always #1 on my to-do list as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

