kiss me I’m Irish

Okay, I’m really not Irish.  I am actually a mix between German and Native American.  Although I can’t figure out where my part of the Native American went.  Obviously I wasn’t given that gene.  But hey, blonde hair & blue eyes.  I’ll take the German.

But humor me will you.  So for today allow me to daydream about being Irish.  Oh and part of my day dream includes being surrounded by all of the famous men I love.  After all they have to kiss me, I’m Irish!

In celebration of St. Patrick’s day and all things Irish, I decided to do a little researching last night for traditional Irish food.  I have always grown up eating “green foods” on St. Patrick’s Day.  That was always the theme for school parties and such. 

During my research I was glad to see that the Irish eat eggs for breakfast, as well as sausage and bacon.  Of course their bangers and rashers are different than our sausage and bacon, but a familiar food.  I was not enthused about the black and white puddings!  You don’t know what that is??  Just google Irish breakfasts.  They also serve beans, tomatoes, and potatoes for breakfast, along with cheese and butter.  What a breakfast!  That is way to much food for me, not to mention to loaded with fat and such. 

blog photos 846

Still I wanted to keep with the holiday.  I had a lovely breakfast of venison sausage, eggs, and soda bread with honey butter smeared on top.  Loved this breakfast!

blog photos 845blog photos 847

Irish Soda Bread

  • 3c whole wheat flour
  • 1c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/5t baking soda
  • 1t sea salt
  • 2t powdered sugar
  • 1c raisins
  • 1.5c buttermilk
  • olive oil
  1. preheat oven to 375 & line baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. combine all dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl, mix well
  3. coat your clean hands with olive oil for kneading, add buttermilk in small increments and knead it into dough
  4. place dough on sheet and make shallow marks across the top of the loaf with a knife
  5. bake in oven for 50 to 60 minutes or until golden on top

I mixed a little softened butter with honey to spread on top of the bread.  This was delicious.  It was a very filling breakfast.  I have to admit I did miss my oats, but if I had to trade my oats for something else (besides pancakes) then bread would be called for 🙂

blog photos 848 

I took the remaining loaf of bread to work with me today to share with my co-workers in the spirit of St. Patrick’s Day.  They love having a baking addict such a generous co-worker.  They kissed me for it.

After all, I’m Irish 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, Uncategorized

2 responses to “kiss me I’m Irish

  1. Haha, I just saw the name of your post after I posted mine for today! LOL great minds think alike, sort of? That breakfast looks sooo delicious and hearty! I haven’t had venison in ages, but the sausage sounds amazing.

  2. ooh I loved when gals baked and brought it in to work! =) it was hard not to stuff my face since I cannoooooot bake! The irish soda bread looks yummmmy! ❤

Leave a Reply

