Weekend Recap

No I didn’t forget about you guys for the past couple of days.  I have just been a little busy with these two guys 🙂

Being a single parent takes a lot of time, patience, and dedication.  Hats off to all of them!  I decided that my two guys needed some very important mommy time.  So I gave them all of my attention.  Of course I am more than willing to share with you guys the joys we had over the weekend!

Breakfasts included all new recipes for us in the Garner household.  I have found some favorites 🙂

 blog photos 883   

Root Beer Float Overnight Oats

doesn’t the name just sound great – I mean who doesn’t want a root beer float for breakfast!

  • 1/3 c rolled oats
  • 1/4c plain greek yogurt
  • 1/3c almond milk
  • 1/3c water
  • 1T flaxseed
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1T chia seeds
  • dash of salt
  • few drops of vanilla stevia
  • 1/2t root beer extract

Combine all ingredients into a bowl, cover, and place in the fridge overnight.  Serve them up in a really cute glass, top with more almond milk in the morning for that “float” look and taste!

blog photos 884

I thought of this idea Thursday night when Kohl requested that I  make some root beer for him.  We always make homemade root beer as opposed to buying it 🙂

blog photos 889

Buckwheat Bake

I have wanted to try this ever since I saw them on “The Edible Perspective”.  Thanks Ashley for sharing.

blog photos 890

You can visit Ashley’s blog here to get her recipes.  She has several to choose from.  I can’t wait to try more 🙂

 blog photos 892 

Chocolate-Strawberry Pancake Stack

We missed pancake Saturday, so we has a pancake Sunday using the new jar of Dark Chocolate Almond Butter 🙂

  • 2T buckwheat groats, ground
  • 1T buckweat groats, whole
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • 1T flaxseed
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4c almond milk
  • dash of vanilla
  • few drops of stevia if needed

Place dry ingredients into a bowl and combine.  Mix the wet ingredients in a measuring cup, add to the dry ingredients.  Preheat you griddle and cook until brown on both sides and firm to the touch.  Spread each pancake with a little nut butter and top with strawberries.  Heat one spoonful of nut butter in the microwave for about 10-15 seconds to make it drippy.  Pour on top of pancakes and enjoy!

blog photos 893

I have to tell you that breakfast was a highlight of the weekend.

blog photos 887blog photos 886

Friday night the boys and I traveled into Baton Rouge to have a little momma/son date night.  The night included a little shopping at Whole Foods – yay!, and a little dinner.  Kohl wanted some Mexican so we stopped in at Qdaba Grill.  I wasn’t very impressed with the place 😦

blog photos 888blog photos 885

It is more like a fast food establishment than an actual sit down restaurant (which is what we wanted).  Of course we didn’t know that until we went inside.  You get into a line, sort of like subway, to place your order and “dress” your tacos/burritos.  I opted for the grilled veggie burrito which I was so looking forward to.  No wheat tortillas – what, no wheat??  Mostly black beans with very little veggies.  The veggies were frozen which left the burrito watery.  I will not be going back again.  Noah wanted sauce for his taco which they didn’t have.  The red salsas are only available in hot, while the mild is only available in green verde.  Not good for an eight year old.  Kohl didn’t like his order either.  He wanted “chips & cheese”, which was basically like opening a jar of cheese and a bag of chips. 

I didn’t want to walk out of the place because it would seem rude so we dealt with it.  I think next time I am in that situation we will have to walk out.  We really wanted a Mexican restaurant to eat at, but it was a fun night.

Saturday we spent some time at my parent’s house and then decided on a low key night at home.   We decided that pizza and movies were in order. 

  blog photos 891   

Homemade Veggie Pizza

  • pizza dough recipe here
  • sliced red pepper
  • sliced yellow pepper
  • pizza sauce
  • spinach
  • mozzarella cheese

Prepare dough according to directions.  Top with toppings of choice and bake in the oven at 500 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

blog photos 891

The boys really enjoyed the pizza.  Of course they want cheese only so I had to make it half cheese, half loaded with goodness.  They enjoyed some Netflix movies in the game room while I watched some more Grey’s.

We finished off the remainder of the pizza today after church.  The hubster is back now so I am off to enjoy some time with him.  I loved spending time with my boys, but I am so glad to be done with single parenting 🙂

12 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Weekend Recap

  1. The pizza and pancakes look fantastic girl! ooh and the rootbeer float! Sorry about the mex place — i’m not a fan of that place either…its kind of cheapy as far as food quality, but, like you, I kind of just dealt with it and never went back!

    boo bad food! haha

  2. Root beer float overnight oats? Yes, please!! Now I just need to find myself some root beer extract so I can try it out! 🙂

  3. Homemade pizza is always a delicious dinner! And yours looks tasty 🙂 I’ve been wanting to try those buckwheat bakes, but I haven’t yet!!

  4. I’m not a fan of Qdoba either. Everyone who likes it tells me it’s because of their queso but I’m wary of cheese that is always melty — that can’t be made of anything real. Homemade pizza on the other hand, is delicious. I bet your boys’ pizza taste will change with time — I used to eat cheese only too 🙂

  5. Hey! Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. I really appreciate it.

    Your boys are so cute! I didn’t even know that root beer extract existed. That looks like a fun breakfast.

  6. Hi There, Thanks for visiting my blog!
    Loving all the fun recipes you use – i actually bought ingredients to make a buckwheat bake for breakfast tomorrow, can’t wait to try it, yours looks delish!
    Donna 🙂

Leave a Reply

