dinner for the man

I am delirious at this point.  You know the feeling.  That lovely behavior you get after getting only a couple of hours of sleep, having to carry your butt into work, then home and kids.  Yeah, you know that feeling.

We have had some interesting weather in my little home town.  I had the wonderful experience (lots of sarcasm here people) of being awaken at 2a.m. because of a severe thunderstorm.  Oh I do mean severe. 

The lightening was so bad I was wondering if a police officer had pulled up into my driveway with flashing lights as some sort of sick joke.  That is until I heard the rumble.  No not the tummy rumble.  The thunder rumble. 

Only I wouldn’t call it a rumble.  I would call it a clash, bang, super sonic sounds – ok maybe that one is a little drastic.  But the point is we had a terrible storm.  Then the power went out.  Great!

Now I can’t sleep because I have no white noise in the back ground.  Not only do I no longer have my white noise, but without my fan I will get hot.  Without my humidifier my allergies will go nuttzo – and I don’t mean the butter!  I will toss and turn.  Cough and sneeze.  I will be hot.  I will not sleep. 

But it gets better.  Oh yeah much better.  So not only did I experience all of that……right about the time my body is giving in to the exhaustion – here comes a second storm.  Just as bad as the first.  Or at least that is what the police department is telling me.  I am still convinced that some officer is trying to play a sick joke on me!

So what does one do when we are super exhausted.  We cook.  Yep, that’s right – cook!  It help me to stay awake.  Keeps me busy.  Now this week is suppose to be all about me, but I decided to treat the man to a meal.  One of his favorites.  One of the reasons he will never leave – seriously no matter how much I try to pay him!

  blog photos 908

Man’s Meatloaf

  • ground venison
  • italian seasonings
  • 1 egg
  • 2T Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4c breadcrumbs
  • ketchup
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Mix all ingredients together in a bowl and place in a loaf pan
  3. Pour ketchup on the top of the meat and bake for about 45 minutes to an hour depending on how much ground meat you use 

blog photos 907

Sweet Potato Chunks w/ Cinnamon Butter

  • Sweet potatoes
  • 2T butter
  • 1T cinnamon
  1. Peel and cut the potatoes into chunks.  Cook in a pot of water until tender
  2. Melt the butter in a microwave safe dish & stir in cinnamon
  3. Pour cinnamon butter on the potatoes

blog photos 909

 

Cornbread Waffles

  • 1/4c corn meal
  • 1T whole wheat flour
  • 1T honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1T olive oil
  • dash of salt
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • 1/4c buttermilk

Mix all ingredients together and cook in a waffle maker

Now of course you will have to heat up some canned turnip greens – don’t judge, I keep canned veggies for nights like this – because the lovely pot of purple hull peas I left the hubster in charge was scorched when I came back from a quick trip to the store.  So he gets canned veggies!

Now if you will excuse me I am going to get crash into my bed early.  I am looking forward to a good night’s sleep.  That is unless my police officer “friend” shows up again!

9 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER

9 responses to “dinner for the man

  1. mmm, my husband would be all over this too!!

  2. Aw that’s terrible. We had really bad weather here too yesterday.
    I have never heard of corn bread waffles until now. That is so creative!

  3. Oh my man would be all over this meal. I could eat the entire serving of the sweet potatoes just by myself. LOVE them made like that!

  4. Hope you were able to get some sleep! I don’t have kids but I know what it’s like to go on almost no sleep and then have to go to work the next day. It’s like you’re running on pure adrenaline.
    Those recipes sound great, especially the cornbread waffles.

  5. Ah, sounds like horrible weather!! I hope it’s not coming our way! I think we’re supposed to get snow tomorrow – which is just fabulous. <–dripping with sarcasm

    I should try making that meal for Sam – he would love it!

  6. Goodnight love! I’m passin’ out early too!

Leave a Reply

