ball game eats: part I

Kohl has a t-ball game tonight!

Noah has ball practice tonight!

Practice starts at 5:30.  The game starts at 6:00, which means we have to  be at the field for 5:30…..what?  Thankfully I have Dad to rely on, and both fields are within a couple miles of each other. 

But what will I do when one is playing in one town, while the other one is playing 10 miles away on another field?  How is a mother to choose which child to watch? 

Needless to say nights like this will not be filled with delicious cooked from scratch meals.  There will be no plates stacked with spaghetti and meatballs with fresh herbs,  no freshly baked breads, and no darn baked desserts!

This requires some pre-planning and organization.  Lucky for my family I am of the OCD type.  Lucky for my family I care about what they eat.  Lucky for the hubster’s wallet I insist that we have a good dinner and save the concession stand food for really desperate times!

I guess a quick stew and grilled cheese will have to do 🙂 <—-love those rhyming skills don’t you!

 blog photos 910

Crock Pot Minestrone Stew

  • 1 can cannellini beans
  • 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 can veggie broth
  • 2 carrots peeled and chopped
  • 1 stalk of celery diced
  • 1/2c chopped onion
  • 1t thyme
  • 1/2t sage
  • 2 bay leaves
  • salt & black pepper
  • 2c cooked pasta
  • 1 medium squash, chopped (originally calls for zucchini)
  • 2 c spinach
  • parmesan cheese
  1. In a crock pot, combine broth, tomatoes, beans, carrots, squash/zucchini celery, onion, thyme, sage, bay leaves, and 1/2 teaspoon each salt and black pepper.
  2. Cover and cook on LOW for 6 to 8 hours or on HIGH for 3 to 4 hours.
  3. Thirty minutes before the soup is done cooking, add pasta and spinach. Cover and cook 30 more minutes.
  4. Remove bay leaves and season, to taste, with salt and black pepper.
  5. Ladle soup into bowls and sprinkle parmesan cheese.

blog photos 911

This is what I consider a type of stew since it has little liquid.  Of course an extra can or two of veggie stock easily turns this recipe into a soup.

 blog photos 794

Serve a bowl along side one of my pear & mozzarella stuffed french toast   🙂

Oh and let’s not forget about dessert – good thing I made this last night!

 blog photos 905

Banana Cream Pudding

  • 1 pkg of instant banana cream pudding mix
  • 2c almond milk
  • 1-2 banana(s), sliced
  • vanilla wafer cookies
  • heavy whipping cream
  • vanilla stevia drops

Mix the pudding according to package directions with the milk and set aside.  Pour your whipping cream into a chilled mixing bowl and add in the stevia drops.  Turn the mixer on and whip until peaks form.  While the pudding is setting arrange cookies and banana slices in the bottom of your serving dish.  Take half of the whipped cream and gently fold into the pudding.  Pour half of the pudding mixture on top of the cookies/bananas, top with more cookies/bananas, add another layer of pudding, top with remaining whipped cream and cookie crumbles.

blog photos 906

I had to make this for the work husband.  He requested it.  Unfortunately I picked up the regular pudding as opposed to the sugar free, the boys will be happy.  Now I usually like to make this home made so that I can use stevia as the sweetener but time did not allow for that.  So we cheated a little on this one.  Hey at least work husband is happy 🙂

So hopefully one day in the near future I will venture into home made southern banana pudding and share the recipe with you…..I see the future….chances are good!

For now the quick stuff will have to do.  I mean I can only do so much pre-planning and organizing.  I only have so many minutes in a day…I know gasp right.  And it is better than concession stand fair since the whipped cream is homemade.

But hey these are desperate times.  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

6 Comments

Filed under CrOcKpOt, DINNER, Uncategorized

6 responses to “ball game eats: part I

  1. Pear and mozzarella grilled sandwich? Be still my beating heart!
    I’m a good girlfriend and attend every single baseball game for every league my BF plays in, that would be 3 games a week (insert eye rolling here)
    🙂

  2. Wow–that pear and mozzarella sandwich looks A-MAZ-ING! Good job, mama, with the pre-planning to get some good eats into your family’s bellies on a busy night!

  3. Ummmm…this is your “quick” and “apologetic” meal? I’m utterly amazed! Looks like gourmet food to me! You’re a great mommy, feeding your two little athletes such good eats. Hope your boys had fun playing!

  4. yum, yum, yum! i love banana pudding 🙂

Leave a Reply

