all about apples

Note:  Kohl is feeling much better and back at school today.  We had the virus over the weekend.  Hopefully this will be the last of it – 3 times is enough!  My allergies are still in full force but that is to be expected.  Thanks for all of your well wishes πŸ™‚

Unfortunately due to storms in the area my internet is currently down at home.  I am having to wait until I get to work to publish my posts.  Hopefully this problem will be taken care of today! 

I would like to talk about one of my favorite fruits with you tonight.  One that you will always find available in my house.  Not only will you  find apples in my house, but you will also find a variety in the ones available. 

My favorite go to apple of course would be the honey crisp.  When that is not available to me I settle for the pink lady.  After all pink is my favorite color πŸ™‚

Kohl likes the green apples and the hubster is a red apple fan.  Feel free to use any type that you like for the recipes listed below.  They are delicious with all apples πŸ™‚

 

Quick β€œApple Pie”

3 crushed honey graham crackers
1 tsp. coconut oil
Apple, sliced
Pinch each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves
Couple tablespoons of water
Drizzle of honey
Yogurt flavored with vanilla whey and cinnamon
Grape nuts

Stew the apples on the stove until almost completely tender.
Combine crushed graham crackers, coconut oil, and honey and press into ramekin
Top with apples and bake at 350 until apples are completely tender.
Top with yogurt and Grape Nuts!!

This recipe of course can be made without the yogurt and grape nut topping.  It is wonderful with some fresh whipped cream or ice cream as well!

Apple Walnut Pancakes

  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/4c oats
  • 1T flaxseed
  • 1T wheat germ
  • 1/4 – 1/2c egg whites
  • chopped apples
  • 2T walnut butter, divided
  • maple syrup
  1. Mix together 1/2 mashed banana, 1/4 cup oats, flax, wheat germ, 1/4-1/2 cup of egg whites, chopped apples, and a tbs. of walnut butter. 
  2. Let this sit for about ten minutes, then cook like a pancake.
  3. Next stir together tbs. of walnut butter with a little almond (or your choice) milk to make the “icing”. 
  4. Top the pancakes with the icing and a little drizzle of maple syrup….Enjoy!!

This is by far one of my favorite pancake combinations.  The walnut butter gives this pancake such a great flavor.  You can substitute any nut butter in place if you would like.  Of course walnut butter is super easy to make.  Just roast some walnuts and process in the food processor until smooth and creamy.  You may need to add a little oil to smooth out if needed.  A touch of salt and you are set!

So enjoy some all time apple favorites of mine.  I have some yummy breakfast recipes to post if I can ever remember to bring my camera cord with me to work…..lol!  Now I must catch up on all of your lives.   I took the weekend off from the computer to rest, and now with the internet being off I am several days behind. 

p.s.  I have been looking online at some interior design blogs to get ideas for my house.  I am starting to make plans to finish my home.  It has been a work in progress for years now due to kids, work, master’s program, just life in general.  It is high time I complete it.  That is my goal for this year.  If you know of any blogs that you could suggest I would love to hear about them!

10 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DESSERT, Fruit, Uncategorized

10 responses to “all about apples

  1. I’m glad he’s feeling better! We’re having bad storms too but so far no outages…hope yours comes back soon!

  2. I’m so glad that Kohl is feeling better!! πŸ™‚

  3. I’m a big fan of baking with apples – I’ll be trying these soon!

    I’ll be posting my toffee apple cake on my blog soon at http://keepsmeoutofmischief.wordpress.com/ – it’s delish!

  4. Oh those both look yummy. http://thriftydecorchick.blogspot.com/ has gorgeous pictures and hundreds of people link up their home decor posts too.
    Hope that helps πŸ™‚

  5. glad kohls is doing better =) and YUM apple pie!!!

    hmmmm design blogs… I love Iheartorganizing for organizational tips for my house and then I also will google image my tush off looking for ideas! I know decor8 and apartment therapy also have fab ideas! ❀

    mwah!

  6. i love anything with apples!! great things to try in the kitchen πŸ™‚

  7. Honey crisps are the best apples around! I only discovered them last year, but I was immediately addicted. They’re not available all of the time at my grocery store, but I grab a bag whenever I can. I also love gala apples, but only if they’re crispy and sweet.

  8. I don’t think i’ve ever tried Honey Crisp, will need to give them a go this week πŸ™‚
    Glad everyone is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

