Berry, Cherry, Merry Day

Like those homophones?  Yeah me too!

Especially when they are all combined together as with the foods I will share with you today.

Remember my single lady oats.  Well I just made them even better 🙂

 blog photos 917 

blog photos 918

How did I make them better you ask.  Well I made a blend of yummy overnight oats with chia seeds in them.  This is my basic overnight oats recipe, recipe here, but you add in a tablespoon of chia seeds.  I am telling you those things make the mixture so much creamier.  But I didn’t stop there.  I added sliced cherries and blueberries to the mix 🙂

 blog photos 919

blog photos 920   

But the fun didn’t stop there.  Oh no it didn’t.  I made a lovely buckwheat bake.  A berry, cherry buckwheat bake at that!

blog photos 926

Berry Cherry Buckwheat Bake

  • 3T buckwheat groats, ground
  • 1T whole buckwheat groats
  • 1/4t baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1T flax
  • 1/2 banana, mashed
  • 1 whole egg
  • dash of vanilla
  • stevia drops
  • 2T almond milk
  • sliced cherries and blueberries
  1. preheat oven to 350 and spray ramekins with non stick spray
  2. combine all dry ingredients in a small bowl
  3. combine the wet ingredients in a small bowl
  4. make a well in the dry ingredients and pour in the wet
  5. mix together well and add the cherries/blueberries
  6. bake for 30 minutes or until center is firm to the touch

blog photos 925

Of course at this point you can add whatever toppings you choose.  I used peanut butter and maple syrup 🙂

I loved the mixture of sweet cherries and the tart blueberries.  I do believe this is a new favorite combo for me, I will be seeing more of this combination in my future!

So where does the merry come in?  It’s Friday!!  Yep, I had those lovely overnight oats for breakfast this morning.  Did I have the buckwheat bakes.  I had the buckwheat bakes last night for dinner, which is how they ended up on this post.  How are they merry?  Um, it was Thursday night, last day of testing, and it was the night before Friday! 

So go ahead make yourself one of these lovely treats and have yourself a berry, cherry, merry day 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Berry, Cherry, Merry Day

  1. Its soo hard to find raw buckwheat where i live in Canada! The kasha version does not taste that great, lol!
    I’m just going to keep drooling over your over night oats pictures till i find a version i really enjoy, my mouth keeps saying oats should be warm, i’m so weird! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Drool Worthy Recipes « the diva-dish

  3. PB + Maple Syrup is one of my favorite flavor combos for toppings. And I love cherries in oats and baked things. So good!

    Hope you had a great weekend, Helen. 🙂

  4. I love the glass you use for your oats! So much prettier and refined than a boring old bowl. You make it look more like dessert than breakfast!

Leave a Reply

