Isle Helen

Somewhere within my inner being I know that I was destined to be born on a beautiful island.  I should be swaying away in a nice hammock, with the warm sunshine & a lovely fresh ocean breeze on my face, the smell of tropical fruits, and the sounds of slow, sweet jazz playing softly. 

    112010 019  

Ok, I know…jazz doesn’t really go with the island lifestyle but give me a break people.  They do have radio on islands, and I am sure that island people have varying tastes in music.  I love jazz.  So I am going with it!

112010 017

Now close your eyes….no wait, don’t do that – you have to read!  Open your inner imagery being.  Imagine yourself swaying in a hammock alongside of me.  You can be my guest.  Or my roommate, I am okay either way.  Of course that is as long as you are not a whiny roommate.  Your not, okay great!

112010 020

So back to the island we should have been born on.  I know I was destined for this.  I know this was once my life calling.  Even if I am one of the palest shades of skin you have seen lately and even if I have straight, blonde hair & blue eyes, I should be an island child.  I can hold a good tan when I try to. 

I love the beach.  I love the water.  I love tropical fruits.  I love tropical drinks – okay really I love whine but I can learn to love tropical drinks 🙂

112010 016

Oh, and I love these pancakes!

Tropical Delight Pancakes

  • 2 heaping T whole wheat flour
  • 1T corn meal
  • 2T rolled oats
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 2T shredded coconut
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1/4t baking soda
  • 2T vanilla yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 2T crushed pineapple
  • 3T pineapple juice
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • drizzle of honey
  • coconut oil & butter
  1. Place all dry ingredients into a small bowl.
  2. Whisk all wet ingredients through the pineapple juice in a measuring cup and pour into the dry ingredients, stir until combined.
  3. Allow mixture to “rest” while the griddle is preheating (thought I forgot this part did you)
  4. Spray griddle and cook cakes until nice and golden brown on both sides
  5. Top  each pancake with a smear of coconut oil and banana slices (very important do not skip out on the bananas)
  6. Top the pancake with some banana slices, coconut butter, and a drizzle of honey
  7. Add a dollop of fresh whipped cream from your freezer to the top (what you don’t have any?, make some!)

A-MAZ-ING!….that is the only way to describe these little beauties.  I loved them.  One of the best things that I have come up with lately  🙂

112010 018

The pancakes are perfectly sweetened between the yogurt and the pineapple.  Trust me, no syrup is required.  Unless you are just feeling adventurous and decide to add some extra sweetness anyway.

Of course then you have to go onto your patio to snap pictures of this fabulous breakfast only to be reminded that you should have been born on an island. 

What happened to my destiny?

112010 022

Oh well, I will have to settle for Isle Helen for now….. a little messy at the moment, but we are loving it!

*********************************

On that note, I totally need to get into summer shape.  I mean what is up with me?  I am still packing around that extra winter pudginess!

Maybe I should have this conversation with my kids.  Since their ball schedules leave me with only one to two days a week to work out, not much is being done to the physique.  Normally I would still be okay with this at this point, but we scheduled vacation yesterday 🙂

We will be traveling to the Great Smoky Mountains the last week of May!! 

Does anyone know where I can find a beach in the mountains?  A girl can dream right?  While I am not traveling to a beach just yet, I will still need to be in shorts and swim suits.  YIKES!!

 112010 021

I wonder if this would pass for proper summer attire.  Black is slimming.  And it covers all my pudginess 🙂

Of course this lovely treat that I made today for an Easter treat to some of the colleagues isn’t really helping that pudginess is it?  I didn’t think so!  But if you have never had one of my crack in a bar hello dollies, then you should totally make a batch.  I promise they are so worth that pudginess!  That is until I have to actually put the swimsuit on as opposed to just looking at it!

Things I am loving at this moment……

  1. I have a half day to work today
  2. I have a half day to work tomorrow
  3. I have spring break next week
  4. I have summer in four more weeks……two months of pure bliss

What are you loving at this moment?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Isle Helen

  1. My husband’s originally from the tropics. He loves it here…but I still can’t quite wrap my head around leaving the tropics and moving to Canada! In my perfect world, I’d live in canada, but spend several months a year walking on beaches, swimming in the ocean and picking mangoes off a tree in my back yard. I’d walk up the beach and come visit you…but I might switch the radio station. haha! Sorry!

  2. yes please to the island life!! can’t wait to try out those pancakes.

  3. Haha you’re not pudgy – you’re skinny!! 🙂

    Can I be your roommate on the island? I promise I won’t whine! 😉

  4. While I feel destined to live somewhere tropical as well it sadly cannot happen. My mister is sensitive to too much sun and I can’t live without him. 🙂 These pancakes look divine. I’m loving being at home lately!

Leave a Reply

