Spring Cleaning

If you ate way too much Easter candy yesterday, raise your hand!

If you ate way too much dessert yesterday, raise your hand!

If you indulged in yummy food of the not so healthy kind yesterday, raise your hand!

If you didn’t raise your hand to at least one of these, you’re lying.  Either that or you are a really secluded from the rest of the world because surely something had to entice you on the holiday. 

But if you had the stamina to get through the day without doing any of the things listed above, please come to my house.  I need lessons.  I pay well.  And I can guarantee to get you more business 🙂

But for those of you that did do all at least one of the indulgences listed above then you will totally understand what I am talking about here.  Spring cleaning.  Not just for your house. 

After yesterday’s holiday feast, having to help the kids eat some of their candy last night, and reminding myself that I have been indulging in treats for the last month (hello I work in a public school) I knew it was time to clean out my system.

So I woke up this morning with a mission to spring clean the house and my body.  Starting with a basic but healthy breakfast.

   112010 071 

Creamy Oats!  I used my basic oat recipe but added in 1 egg and 2T cottage cheese for some extra protein.  Besides I love how both the egg and the cottage cheese add creaminess to the mix.  Just remember to omit the salt and to temper the egg before adding it.

112010 069

Topped with 1/4 sliced banana, 2T raisins, coconut butter, and walnut butter.  I also stirred in some coconut oil into the mix for added fats.  This kept me nice and full for several hours!

112010 070

For lunch I had a bagel thin toasted with 1/2 smeared with laughing cow cheese and the other 1/2 with walnut butter.  I also had a boiled egg from Easter with the bagel, and one of my strawberry yogurt muffins on the side.  I know lots of carbs right.  But I had intentions of going for a run today so I wanted good fuel.  I had a basic yogurt and berry smoothie as an afternoon snack.

112010 072

Dinner was quick, easy, and delicious.  I am craving vegetables at this point.  All I could think about was broccoli.  So I made a broccoli bowl.

  • Steamed broccoli
  • cannellini beans
  • couscous
  • nutritional yeast flakes
  • crumbled goat cheese
  • salt & pepper
  • squeeze of lemon juice

112010 073

That is it.  Just layer it in a bowl and enjoy.  I love lemon juice squeezed on my broccoli 🙂

This was just what I needed.  Some good veggie action.  I must go to the market tomorrow and replenish my supply.  I am down to canned/frozen veggies, tomatoes, and cucumbers.  Sad I know.  I so need some spinach for a big green monster!

***************************************************

On to more interesting things!

image

Ashley from over at Feeding Ashley awarded me with the Bootylicious blog award!  Ashley is a college student that has a passion for food, art, and exercise.  She is a wonderful, beautiful person, and very talented in the art department.  You should totally go and check out her blog. 

So here are the things you have to do when you receive this award.  You must mention the name of the person that awarded you – after all they deserve a great big thanks, answer a few questions, and then nominate seven other bloggers with the award. 

1.  Name three things that are lying right next to you

  • Water bottle
  • Picture of the boys
  • Magazines

2.  Name two foods you can’t live without

That one is easy.  Oats and nut butter!

3.  Name something you did today

Laundry.  And lot’s of it!  I believe I finished around four loads today.  I also started on my spring cleaning, which is spaced out over the course of three days 🙂

 

Now for the nominating part.  That is difficult but here goes –

Stephanie of The New Healthy

Lauren of Lawfully Wedded Wife

Sam of Fitness Food & Faith

Liz of I ❤ Vegetables

Stephanie of Love Life Project

Lauren of Lauren Loves Good Food

Donna of Love Run & Travel

 

Are you doing any spring cleaning of any kind?

Thanks Ashley for awarding me the Bootylicious award, you are awesome!

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Spring Cleaning

  1. Aw you’re welcome. You totally deserve it! I was definitely waving my hand like crazy to those questions. I’m still stuffed from yesterday. I don’t know if I will ever be hungry again.

  2. Thanks for the shoutout, Helen! That dinner looks fabulous and easy 🙂

  3. thanks for the nomination!! i love the idea of the broccoli bowl. may need to try that this week. i totally overindulged this weekend. trying to be good this week 🙂

  4. My hand isn’t just raised its waving around wildly 🙂
    Thanks soo much for the award, i’m super excited!!!

Leave a Reply

