Got Herbs?

I have done absolutely nothing today. 

Okay well not really nothing. 

The boys and I did go for a walk earlier.  We walked around the local campus, which is a two mile walk.  They didn’t like it.  I loved it!

You see we had some rain come through the area early this morn.  Which left us with cooler temps 🙂

Yes I say that with a smile.  I live in Louisiana people.  We are knocking in the 90’s at this point in the year.  Soon to be triple digits, and do not even start on the heat index!

112010 074

So after our lovely, cool stroll I just wasn’t in the mood for my spring cleaning adventures in the house.  Instead I decided I would much rather play around in my kitchen.

112010 075

Lucky for the hubster you, that is exactly what I did!

112010 077

Oh wait, would you like the recipe?  Of course you would!

The recipe originally called for rosemary, which I did not have?  Couldn’t find that darn bottle anywhere.  So I opted to replace the rosemary with an Italian herb blend.  I think it will work just fine, don’t you?…mmmkkk!

112010 076

Rosemary (Herbed)  Bread

  • 1 packet active dry yeast
  • 2t sugar
  • 2T olive oil, plus more for brushing
  • 1c whole wheat flour
  • 1.5c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 2T dried rosemary (or herb of choice)
  • 1t fine salt
  • 1/2t kosher salt
  • fresh ground pepper
  1. Stir the yeast, sugar, and 1/4c warm water in the bowl of a stand mixer.  Let sit until foamy, about 5 minutes
  2. Add 1T olive oil, the flour, 1.5t herbs, the fine salt, and 3/4c warm water.  Mix with the dough hook until a dough forms.
  3. Knead with the dough hook on medium-high speed, adding flour if necessary, for about 8 minutes.  Or you can knead on a floured surface by hand for about 10 minutes.
  4. Brush a large bowl with olive oil.  Add the dough and cover with plastic wrap.  Let stand at room temperature for about 2 hours.
  5. Brush 2 baking sheets with olive oil.  Generously flour a work surface; turn the dough out onto the surface and divide into four pieces.  Take one piece at a time and sprinkle some flour on top.  Take the top and bottom portions and fold into the middle.  Fold in the sides to make a square.  Flip over and tuck the ends under to form a ball.  Place on baking sheet seam side down.  Let the dough balls sit uncovered for another 2 hours.
  6. Preheat oven to 400.  Bake the loaves about 10 mintues; brush with the remaining tablespoon of olive oil and sprinkle with the kosher salt, as well as the remaining 1/2T of herbs.  Continue baking until golden brown, about 10 more minutes.
  7. Cool on a cooking rack. 

This bread is wonderful served with some good quality olive oil and black pepper for dipping.  

      112010 078  

So this made four round loaves of wonderful bread.  I love bread!

 112010 079

I served this lovely bread alongside garlic and herb pork loin, and a lovely vegetable/brown rice risotto. 

112010 080

The risotto was a superb addition to such a flavorful meal.  I used this recipe; 1/2 the recipe, omit the butter,  and added mushrooms in the mix as well.

 112010 081

This was a great meal.  I really love being home, and having the ability to cook such wonderful meals for myself my family  🙂

Now I must revamp that spring cleaning schedule!

8 Comments

Filed under baking, DINNER, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Got Herbs?

  1. Can i come over for dinner? LOL except for the mushrooms this sounds amazing!
    I’m sooo scared to try making my own bread, i will try it one day 🙂

  2. Love it! Homemade bread is the best! Ohh and thanks so much for the award! 😀

  3. care to pencil my house into your spring cleaning sched? =) pretty please? with sugar on top! ❤ hehe

    the bread looks divine! I need to ask the hubs to bake for me! ❤

Leave a Reply

