BLTs

I have posted in the past on how I am often questioned about my eating habits.  For some reason people think that “clean eaters” are weird eaters.  I have often tried to defend my eating habits as normal.

But I have to admit that my eating habits are not normal.  Sure they are normal to the food blogging world.  They are normal to the clean eating world.  They are normal to vegan/vegetarian world.

They are not normal to the “normal world” – or so that is what I am told!

But I must ask what is normal?  I think they mean that it is not normal to the typical American diet, because I stay away from processed foods.  I do not cook from a box, order nightly from a menu, guzzle soda’s, etc, etc.  I love to eat fresh foods.  I love to eat vegetables.  I love to eat whole grains, legumes, fruits, and nuts.  No, that is not normal to the typical American diet.  I mean, when is the last time you saw quinoa on a menu?

But you know what is typical of everyone’s diet?  BLTs!  Yep, they are on everyone’s diet.  Even vegan/vegetarian diets. 

Don’t shake your head at me.  I haven’t completely lost all sensibility.  I know that they do not eat meat.  I am not talking about your typical bacon-lettuce-tomato-sandwich that you are thinking about.  Although to my household that does sound pretty darn tasty!

No, I am talking about something totally different.  Something that goes along with the same question I always get.  How do you stay so skinny? 

While I do not think that I am so skinny – clothing does wonders – I do have to admit that I am smaller than the average American because of my dietary habits.  So I give them the same advice that was given to me.  Eat clean!  Of course that is like talking to a brick wall, so I do the best thing a friend could do.  I ask them to write down everthing that goes into their mouths for several days.  And I do mean everything.  Every morsel, every drink, everything! 

Then I sit down go over it with them and point out the bad things.  And everyone’s journal (including mine) has BLTs on them. 

What are BLTs?  Bites-Licks-Tastes-Sips!

We are all guilty of this.  Taking a little taste her.  A  bite will not hurt.  I just need a little sip.  Or even worse for us mothers – he left a little bite behind, I hate to waste food, so one little bit will not hurt. 

What we do not realize is that over a day/couple days/weeks time those BLTs do add up.  They can cause you to reach a plateau in your diet.  They can cause you to gain unwanted weight.  They have even been know to cause a binge with some people. 

So how do we eliminate BLTs from our diets.  I can’t be sure.  I am no expert.  I only know what works for me. 

I carefully plan out my meals.  Snacks included.  I eat every 3-4 hours to ensure that my body stays fueled.  I drink as much water as possible.  Some days I really suck at the water thing, some days I blast it out of the “water”!  I make a conscious effort to think about everything that I eat.  I have evolved to the point of being able to list all morsels without documenting.  For those of you that can’t do that yet, get a food journal. 

112010 088

Now I am not trying to say that I am perfect.  I am not perfect.  I still do the BLTs as well.  But I do so consciously now.  That is the key to a healthy lifestyle.  Being conscious about what you eat and drink.  Being comfortable with your choice of diet.  Being okay with everything that you put into your mouth!

If you aren’t to that point, then you need to eliminate the BLTs from your diet until you are comfortable.  You need to plan your meals/snacks, write them in a journal, and follow that plan precisely.  Remember to eat a mostly plant based diet.  Remember to add in some whole grains, and healthy fats.

Need some inspiration or ideas?  Visit the blogs that I have commented on here.  Visit my recipe page.  Read online, research, and discover new blogs for yourself.

112010 091   

I will leave you with a little help

112010 089

Cream of Wheat Pudding

  • 1c water
  • 1/2c almond milk
  • 2T turbinado sugar/honey/maple syrup/stevia
  • dash of vanilla
  • 3T cream of wheat
  • raisins
  • hot water
  1. Soak raisins in hot water while preparing the cream of wheat.
  2. Bring the water and milk to a simmer, briskly whisk while adding the cream of wheat to get it smooth, creamy, and free of lumps.
  3. Cook the cream of wheat for about 3-5 minutes, until it thickens.  Remove from heat, stir in the sweetener of choice,  vanilla and raisins.
  4. Pour the mixture into individual ramekins, place plastic wrap on top of the mixture, and refrigerate for several hours or overnight.
  5. Serve with a drizzle of honey on top for snack or breakfast.

So there you have it!  A nice snack recipe to help curb that sweet tooth a little.  Much healthier than a cookie/candy bar and filling.

112010 090

Now for my last important point.  Don’t forget to treat yourself for going without those BLTs!  It doesn’t have to be centered around food if you do not feel that you can stay on track by eating something indulgent.  It can be mani/pedi’s, new shoes, purse, clothes, makeup, game, etc.  Whatever is your passion in life, treat yourself 🙂    

10 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DESSERT, Uncategorized

10 responses to “BLTs

  1. Great post! It is super important to be a mindful eater. You must have read my mind about the Cream of Wheat–I was JUST talking about how no one seems to talk about hot cereals like Cream of Wheat or Wheatina anymore!!! They are oldies but goodies for sure, my grandma used to make the best cream of wheat for me when I was little. This pudding looks delicious!

  2. I can’t write down everything I eat. I get a bit obsessive with what I eat if I monitor it too closely. I just try to eat what makes me feel good and happy 🙂

  3. Wonderful post Helen!
    I can be very bad for the little bites here and there
    I’m always better about my eats when i plan it out, and don’t just snack all willy nilly
    Thanks for the great post and recipe 🙂

  4. Interesting post! I don’t write down everything that I eat. But I do try to ask myself: Am I hungry? Do I really want this? Will it bless my body? That helps keep me from eating junk when I’m stressed instead of truly hungry. Well, usually… 😉

  5. great tips! i try to keep a mental list during the day. any tips for avoiding all the goodies in the office break room?!

  6. I’m definitely guilty of eating BLTS, but I’ve realized that while those might add up, if I restrict myself from tasting things it just turns into a downward spiral of restriction that leads to my unhappiness. Everything in moderation!

    P.S. I looove cream of wheat 🙂

Leave a Reply

