Confessions of a blogger

I have a confession to make.

Scratch that, I have several confessions to make.

Starting with one that will probably disappoint a few people. 

I do not like to disappoint, but I do like honesty, so here goes!

I do not always eat healthy!

There I said it.  Today alone I have had a palm full of chips, a doughnut, and a fudge strip cookie.  Why?  Because it is teacher appreciation week.  Different things are being placed in the lounge this week for that reason.  Am I one to say no to a doughnut? Well sometimes I do, but today was not one of those days.  Thank goodness I have a great salad with tuna for lunch today or I would go over board.  But hey, it’s teacher appreciation week so I expect lots of the unhealthy stuff – and I’m okay!

I am addicted to pancakes.

What use to be a Saturday tradition, has turned into a 3 times a week tradition!

 112010 001 

Oatmeal pancakes with coconut cream. 

112010 003

They are good.  They are sweet.  They are healthy.  You know you want some!

  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2t vanilla
  • 1/4 + 1T almond milk
  • 1/4c oats ground into flour
  • 1/4c whole oats
  • 1/2t baking powder
  • dash of salt
  • 1T coconut flour
  • 2-3T almond milk (depending on what consistency you like)
  • few drops of stevia

Combine all ingredients together and let it sit for about 10 minutes.  You can preheat the griddle while the mixture is resting. Then cook on both sides until golden brown.  Mix the coconut flour, almond milk, and stevia together.  Top each cake with walnut butter and coconut cream 🙂 

112010 002

I haven’t been working out as much lately, or drinking the appropriate amount of water!

I know bad, bad.  For one, the gym is a little difficult to get to when you have two kids playing ball almost every night of the week at two different locations.  I have no choice but to be with one of them.  Combined with my husband’s crazy work schedule and that makes it difficult.  I go when I can, or try to at least walk in the neighborhood behind my house as often as possible.  This I feel is leading to a lot of the unhealthy eating lately.  Combined with the holiday’s, the ball games, and improper hydration, I am a beast with food.  I find myself not being satisfied 😦

As for the water, some days are worse than others.  I always have water with me, but I find that I am not drinking the appropriate amount according to my stats.  I should consume no less than 2.5 liters daily according to my weight/height/activity level.  I am lucky if I am getting 2 in!  I use to drink at least 3 daily, what gives!!

I have gained back weight/inches!

While I have never been an overweight person, I have always been one to care about my weight issues.  Upon entering into the clean eating world, I have to admit that I did drop close to 10 pounds and several inches from by body.  And that was just within a few months!  For once since high school I didn’t have the muffin top, the ugly thighs, and the belly bulge.  Guess what?  They are back!  Yep, they are.  While they are not as bad as they once use to be since I do still eat healthy and exercise some, I can tell that I have been letting myself slip.

I am losing my energy!

I find myself needing naps lately.  Not that I would ever get one.  But I get tired/sleepy.  So I grab some coffee, which is one reason why that darn water intake is dropping.  I am replacing my water with caffeine.  Not good!  Also, the lack of exercising adds to this, I know that.

So why did I spill all of this out on my blog.  One word – accountability.  Because if I put it out there for others to read, then I will be more motivated to hold myself accountable.  I will be more motivated to get back in the game of healthy living. 

I will enjoy this week of teacher appreciation.  I am not going to lie to myself and say no more snacking, sweets, etc.  However, I will use this as a treat, not a meal.  It is okay to have one of the items offered.  But not all.  School employees have a tendency to go overboard, not mention I am also in the south where everything is celebrated with food. 

I will make a game plan to get my behind back in the gym and back on the track.  Only two more weeks of ball!  I will make it a personal goal to consume more water.  I will get my energy back!  I will overcome this slump and come out stronger on the other side.  Here is to summer and the ability to live a healthy, wonderful life. 

Thanks for reading and letting me vent through all of this.  I appreciate each and everyone of you 🙂

12.5 days left 🙂 

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

7 responses to “Confessions of a blogger

  1. I love the honesty in your post Helen!
    I’m bad for just not being as focused as i used to be, eating late at night (even if they are organic potato chips) is not the way to go
    Love the pancake recipe and can’t wait to hear what else you have up your sleeve !
    Ps: Happy Teacher Appreciation week 🙂

  2. I’m in moving mode… which means i’m living off of snacky foods, stress eating annnd not going to the gym b/c of housing schtuff… so basically i’m getting a lil chunky like I do with every move. boo! It’s ok girl! we’re all human! and we all have eachother to motivate and say “EAT YOUR VEGGIES LOVELY!!!!!” hehe! mwah! love ya!

  3. I appreciate your honestly, Helen. Often healthy living bloggers give off this impression of being perfect, so it’s nice to hear that you are okay with admitting that you’re human. I think everything on here is just creating a vicious cycle. Remember, even if you’re not exercising as much you can still eat healthily 🙂 But a little indulgence is okay, too.

  4. so nice to hear that someone else has a donut every now and then too! i’m sorry things have been hectic…good luck with your new plan. excited to hear how it goes and feel motivated!

Leave a Reply

