A Taste of Garden

I hope everyone had a wonderful mother’s day!  I know that I surely did. 

       112010 010 

Noah made me a key chain at school for Mother’s day, and the boys gave me a gift card to PJ’s Coffee!

112010 012112010 011

The hubster and boys treated me to breakfast before church.   I didn’t put any of the photos up from my breakfast due to something crazy wrong with the camera.  They came out horrible.  I will tell you that I had 6 grain pancakes with banana slices & honey, two eggs, and bacon.  It was a great breakfast!

We spent the afternoon at the lake boating & swimming, I am sorry to say that I have no photos of that – camera + water = bad!

112010 009

I will share with you a little taste of the garden!

The hubster came home on Friday with some summer squash and zucchini from the garden at his company’s office.  I love squash.  So of course I had to cook some immediately.  I saw the perfect recipe on Thursday while on the treadmill at the gym using squash.  I of course was watching food network, yes I watch about cooking/eating while exercising – crazy, probably!  Then he came home with squash on Friday, coincidence?  I don’t think so.  I fully believe that God knew I needed that squash!

112010 004

Minted Squash Pasta

  • 1/4c olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1c whole wheat pasta
  • 1c diced summer squash
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 4 oz. goat cheese
  • 1/2c mint, chopped
  1. Add the oil to a saute pan with the garlic and slowly heat.  Allow the garlic time to infuse the oil. 
  2. Add  the squash to the pan & boil your pasta water
  3. Reserve about 1/4 c of the pasta water after you drain
  4. Add cooked pasta to the pan with salt, pepper, pasta water, cheese, and mint
  5. Garnish with additional cheese and mint

112010 005

This recipe was adapted from a recipe by Clair Robins.  You can find the original recipe here.

112010 006

Loved this recipe.  I was so amazing!  I am excited to start trying this with various types of veggies 🙂

Now of course we couldn’t have just squash pasta for dinner, oh no.  You see I picked up some lovely cucumbers from the produce stand as well.  Five for a dollar!  Now that is what I call a deal.  So a made a salad of sorts.

112010 007

  • cucumber
  • squash
  • carrots

112010 008

Aren’t those colors gorgeous together!  Just slice and dice, then toss in a bowl.  I drizzled mine with a little hazelnut oil, salt & pepper.  Any salad dressing can  be used on this.  I love raw squash – what you have never tried it?  You should!

This has me so excited for the coming summer and garden foods I will now have available.  I can’t wait to get fresh veggies!  Have a wonderful Monday!

8.5 days til summer vacay 🙂

8 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Uncategorized

8 responses to “A Taste of Garden

  1. Yum! Everything looks so delish! So glad you had a wonderful Mother’s Day!! 🙂

  2. I need squash NOW!!!!!! haha! So glad you had a fabulous weekend =) I’m totally adding squash to my grocery list thanks to you! love it! ❤ the pasta squash salad looks divine!

  3. It looks great. I’m glad you had a great mothers day, you deserve it!

  4. Glad you had a lovely mothers day
    YAY squash, yum yum yyummm

  5. yum!! great recipe 🙂 how nice to fresh squash.

Leave a Reply

