The Best – readers & pancakes

You guys are the best!

That couldn’t go unsaid.  I appreciate all of your encouraging words, thoughts, and prayers from my note to you yesterday.  As many of you know I am a SLP (speech therapist) in the Louisiana public school system.  I have been working at my middle school/headstart for the past three years.  I really love my school, the location, my colleagues, and the elementary school that the boys attend. 

I was told yesterday that I would no longer be placed at my current school.  I would have a choice of switching schools with another SLP or moving into an itinerant homebound position.  This was devastating to me, which left me in tears yesterday into last  night.  I couldn’t even gather my thoughts enough to hold a decent conversation without crying, much less write a blog post.  I knew that you guys would understand my need to just be silent for awhile.

On a happier note, my current principal was not thrilled about the news today when I informed him of the change.  They are basically wanting to swap two of us around.  He is “going up to bat for me” to try and keep me at my location.  I am not sure of my future at this moment, but I am content.  I have placed the situation in God’s hands, and I know that he will open up the door that is meant for me to go through.  Thank you all for everything!

*************************************

So are you guys in the mood for some granola?

        112010 028

How about chocolate granola!

Are you in the mood for pancakes?

112010 023

How about Whole Wheat Granola Pancakes!

112010 024

This recipe was inspired by my lovely Mother’s Day breakfast.  I only have three options for breakfast in my town, Ihop, cracker barrel, or waffle house.  Needless to say I opted for Cracker Barrel!  I enjoyed their new 6-grain granola pancake breakfast.  Now while my pancakes are not exactly the same they are pretty darn tasty 🙂

Here is what you need to do:

  • make your favorite pancake batter
  • get your favorite granola
  • add in dried cranberries/nuts if your granola doesn’t contain any

Mix up your batter and pour onto a pre-heated griddle.  Sprinkle some granola/fruit/nuts on top of your pancakes.  Cook until nice and golden brown.  Enjoy them with some sliced bananas and honey!

112010 025

112010 026

Alina from Enjoy Life foods was kind enough to send me some of their new double chocolate granola and mega chocolate chunks for review.  The company offers a variety of products that are allergy friendly.  They are free of the eight common allergies (wheat, dairy, peanuts, tree nuts, egg, soy, fish, and shellfish) and are made with natural ingredients. 

112010 029

Their double chocolate crunch granola contains mini, semi-sweet chocolate chips.  It reminds me of one of my favorite cereals as a child – chocolate rice crispies!  Oh, and their products are gluten free as well.  A plus for those gluten intolerant people 🙂

112010 027

The hubster will probably need to hide this bag from me considering that I want to eat it up in one sitting! 

112010 030

I was also sent their mega chocolate chunks, which are also free of the above allergens!  I can’t even tell that these are not regular semi-sweet chocolate chunks!  I can’t wait to try these in some sort of baked item, that is if I can keep myself from eating them straight out of the bag…lol!

The company offers cookies, bars, granola, chocolate chips, cereals, and bagels.  Their products can be found in natural food stores and conventional grocery stores throughout the U.S. and Canada.  Visit their website to learn more about the products and the company.  You may also want to just pick up a product or two on your next shopping trip for a nice treat at home!

**Disclaimer:  I am in no way being compensated from Enjoy Life Foods for my review.  The above review is my honest opinion about the products I received.**

********************************************************

Now I have something special for you guys since you were so supportive of me yesterday.  Oh, and because you are just the best blog readers a girl could have!

One of you will receive a small token of love from none other than….ME!  That’s right.  Because you guys are so special to me, I will randomly pick one of you to send a surprise package to for your faithful support.  Here is what you have to do to enter:

  • leave a comment telling me an idea on how to use some of the granola
  • link this giveaway to your blog and leave a comment telling me you did
  • post about the giveaway with the blog link on facebook/twitter and leave a comment telling me you did

The winner will be chosen by a random number generator on Sunday morning.  Good luck to all and again thanks for all you do just by visiting/commenting 🙂

5 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, Fruit, Uncategorized

5 responses to “The Best – readers & pancakes

  1. Ahhhh that looks so delicious!!! I’d put it on my banana smoothie bowl in the morning!! I’d love that 😀

  2. So sorry about the job stress, i hope it all works out in the end, fingers and toes are crossed for you
    I would mix this granola into oatmeal with fresh raspberries and a drizzle of chocolate sauce, mmmm 🙂

  3. I hope things work out with your job situation! The granola looks great, I would put it on top of some coconut milk yogurt!

  4. Pingback: Just a Kiss…. | Helen, Naturally!

  5. Pingback: Happenings of 2011 | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

