Things R Changin

I am a creature of habit.

I like to keep things simple.  The same.  Controllable.

This is probably due to the OCD that I suffer from. Although the hubster is convinced that I am just a control freak.  I blame it on the OCD!

But I have to admit, I am a little bit of a control freak.  I just like to keep things simple.

But things are changin…..

Temperature

 Sunny
Today  100°F

Feels Like: 106°

 

Breakfast

 112010 069        

Out with hot oats and in with……

112010 071

Overnight Oats & “Soft Serve” Parfait

  • 1/2c oats
  • 1 single container of vanilla yogurt
  • 1/2c almond milk
  • cinnamon
  • splash of almond extract
  • strawberry slices
  • frozen bananas
  • frozen strawberries
  1. Mix the first six ingredients in a bowl and place in the fridge overnight.
  2. In the morning mix place frozen bananas & frozen strawberries in a food processor and process until you have soft serve
  3. Layer the glass with soft serve & oat mixture, top with sliced bananas & dash of cinnamon

112010 070

 

Daily Activities

 

112010 061112010 062

We have traded in desks, books, and pencils for trips to slides, monkey bars, and swings.

 

Drinks

Hot coffee has been traded for iced coffees 🙂

112010 073

 

Snacks

Gone are the apples & nut butters and in are the cliff bars, frozen berries, watermelons, and….

112010 064112010 065

No Bake Chocolate Oat Bites

  • 1/2c oats
  • 1T buckwheat groats
  • 1T pecan pieces
  • 1T cinnamon
  • 1/4c chocolate chips of choice (I used non dairy from Eden Life)
  • 2T honey
  • 1T coconut oil
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix the oats, groats, pecan pieces, and cinnamon and place on a sheet pan sprayed with non-stick spray.
  3. Bake for about 10 minutes, set aside to cool
  4. Melt chocolate chips in a bowl in the microwave for about 60 seconds
  5. Add the remaining ingredients and stir well, you may need to microwave a few more seconds to keep it smooth and creamy
  6. Mix the dry ingredients in with the chocolate and stir well
  7. Place spoonfuls of the mixture in cupcake liners and place in the refrigerator to chill

These are the perfect treat.  They are chewy with the slightest crunch due to toasting the oats.  Of course they need to be kept chilled to hold them together, but with 100 degree temps I am loving a cool treat 🙂

112010 066

And last but not least, the biggest change is……

hair color

112010 074

I have traded in my blonde locks for brunette  I know crazy right!  When all others are going blonde for summer, I am darkening.  But I can explain.  I have slowly been adding low lights back into my hair over the last several salon visits, trying to get back to my natural color, and also because I was getting to close to that “damaged hair from too much bleach” look.  But I can’t blame this shade on the salon.

Oh no.  I did this job all by myself.  In my plan to save money/pay off smaller debts faster I have decided to make a great sacrifice – no more color jobs at the salon until debts are paid off.  Thank goodness that will be by the end of the year!

So I traveled to the local Ulta store, spent too much time on the hair color isle, and came home with what is called “Light Golden Brown” hair dye.  I wanted to keep some of the golden tones in, but I wanted to get away from the blonde locks.  So I chose two shades and asked the boys which did they like best.  They picked the box, we came home, dumped it in my head, and here you go…..brunette.  A little darker than what I was thinking it would turn out to be, but I like it!

Of course the safe part is that I went with a “wash out” dye as opposed to permanent.  I figured that would be safer since I was going solo.  So I will be back to normal within about 30 shampoos.  I have already decided that I will continue to use this type of dye until I decide to return to the salon, which of course the hubster has deemed will happen sooner rather than later.  We shall see 🙂

So tell me your honest opinion on this subject.  The decision to save as well as the color itself.  It’s okay to say it is not right for me or to dark.  I promise I will still love you all….after all, Kohl told me I looked “stupid”!  And here I am thinking that I am teaching my children to be nice and respectful??

7 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, Fruit, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Things R Changin

  1. i 100% think the colour looks GREAT on you!
    I tried another overnight oats recipe once and was not a fan so i’m going to give this one a try and i’m really excited 🙂
    Its okay, i suffer from OCD too, we will make it a prerequisite for our club 😀

  2. I think these are all pretty great changes! I love the new hair! I’m a self-admitted control freak, so I totally get it though! 🙂

  3. I LOVE IT!!! It really looks great and so natural. 🙂

    also – that parfait looks like a fancy something from an upscale restaurant. Mmmm.

  4. Wow, y’all are having some HOT weather! It’s pretty much lingering in the 90’s here in Georgia. I LOVE your hair color, I think it looks great on you! And good for you saving that money!

Leave a Reply

