Obsessions part II

I have some serious obsessions.  Just ask the hubster, he can tell you all about them. 

source

Coach purses for instance…..

source

Shoes – totally obsessed….

anniversary 008

Beaches…..

But today I am going to talk about my recent food obsessions.  Yes people I have those, we all do.  Of course they vary depending on the season – which for me is only two.  Summer & what some call winter, I call fall.  You see in Louisiana we are mostly hot.  I do mean mostly!  As in heat from March til November if we are lucky.  Then we have some cool temps in November & December, a little colder in January/February.  Nothing major.  I mean we close school if we get into the 20’s around here, that is a big deal.

So as you can see mostly summer.  Nope no spring.  Obviously LA thinks spring is overrated!  Oh and do not get me started on humidity people!

What does this have to do with my obsessions.  Well you try to convince the hubster that I need multiple (I do mean multiple, were talking double digits here people) pairs of sandals!  But no the point is that most of my obsessions have to deal with summer, hence the beach obsession.

So what am I obsessed with now….

Smoothies!  Nice cold smoothies.  Smoothies that are nutritious, full of flavor, and ice cold.  The latest obsession….

112010 075

Chocolate Cherry Green Monster

  • 1 small banana, sliced and frozen
  • 1/4c of frozen cherries
  • handful of frozen spinach (yes you can freeze this and it makes a big difference)
  • 3/4c almond milk
  • 1T peanut butter (protein)
  • 1T cocoa powder

Blend, blend, blend.  Makes a thick, creamy, delish smoothie 🙂

112010 077

It may not look attractive but it is sooo good!

My other seasonal obsession, salads.  I love a good salad.  I eat a ton of salads in the summer.  Usually two a day.  One for lunch and one with dinner.  But I like for my salads to always have variety.  That keeps me from getting to bored with them, which is why I can eat two a day!

112010 081

Now I have to give some credit for last night’s/today’s salad to a friend.  You see I love chicken salad.  I haven’t made one in while now, and yesterday as I was reading my blogs I came across one.  Donna from Love, Run, & Travel posted a curry chicken salad recipe.  I love curry chicken salad.  So I had to make my own.  Now we do have a little difference in what we put into our salads so here is the link to Donna’s.  Thanks Donna for reminding me about this!!

112010 080

Curry Chicken Salad

  • chicken breast (roasted and cubed)
  • 1/4c diced cucumber
  • 1/4c diced tomato
  • 2T raisins
  • 2T chopped peanuts
  • 1t curry powder
  • 1/2t celery seed
  • 2T mayo
  • 2T greek yogurt
  • 1T flax seed
  • squirt of dijon mustard

Place all ingredients into a bowl and mix well.  Serve on a bed of romaine lettuce or a whole grain bun 🙂

112010 079    

This recipe is formatted to serve one, but it can easily be made to serve multiple people.  I also love how chicken salad can be made for individual tastes.  You don’t like raisins, leave them out.  You want apples – throw them in. You get the idea. 

So go ahead and make your own little dish of salad and join me on my obsession!  I promise you will not be disappointed.  Now I just have to convince the husband that we really should eat chicken salad multiple times a week!

2 Comments

Filed under DINNER, Fruit, Louisiana, lunch, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Obsessions part II

  1. Your salad looks awesome helen!!!! I usually put nuts in as well but i didn’t want to upset the BF more since i had already put raisins in dinner 😀
    I made your overnight oats and i have to say adding the softserve makes it totally yummy – i finally enjoy them YAY!
    Thank you thank you thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

