WIAW – Kitchen Aid Edition

Happy Wednesday to all!

Peas and Crayons

I guess I should say happy What I Ate Wednesday 🙂 

 

BREAKFAST

    • Almost Elvis Oat Cakes

112010 089

Why do I call these almost Elvis oat cakes?  Well, in case you didn’t know one of Elvis’s favorites would be peanut butter, banana, bacon sandwiches.  Yep, that is true.  Just google it!  So I didn’t have any bacon this morning, but I did have peanut butter & banana slices. 

   112010 088  

And yes, I love Elvis!  Blame my momma…

 

LUNCH

Lunch was left over from last night’s dinner, and unfortunately I didn’t take a photo before gobbling it up.  To be honest, I completely forgot about WIAW.  I know, I know – duh!!  But when you are a temporary “stay at home mom”, well losing track of time is a common thing.

But I will at least tell you what I had.  I made pork tenderloin in the crock pot yesterday with an Asian inspired sauce & fried rice.  The sauce was a combination of chicken broth, sesame oil, soy sauce, and brown sugar.  The loin was slow cooked with the liquid, then cornstarch/water mixture was stirred in to thicken the sauce before serving.

 

SNACK

Now lets talk kitchen talk shall we….

I love my kitchen appliances.  They make my kitchen efficient.  They make my kitchen look better.  They make my kitchen, well they make my kitchen more exciting!

source

One of my favorite appliances would without a doubt be my beloved mixer.  So why is it that I have now been on summer vacation for three weeks now, home every day, and I have yet to pull that baby out of the cabinet?

Well no more I say!  Today I made a lovely breakfast/snack cake for us to enjoy, and I am going to share this lovely recipe with you all 🙂 

112010 096

Chocolate Chip Coffee Cake (adapted from Ellie Krieger)

  • 2T butter, room temperature
  • 2T hazelnut oil (or any oil you have available)
  • 3/4c organic brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1/2t vanilla extract
  • 1c plain greek yogurt
  • 1c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1c whole wheat flour
  • 1t baking soda
  • 1/2t salt
  • 3T turbinado sugar
  • 1t cinnamon
  • 1/2c chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350, spray an 8×8 baking dish with non-stick spray
  2. Place the butter, oil, and brown sugar in mixing bowl and mix until fluffy.  Add in the eggs one at a time and mix until combined.  Add the yogurt and vanilla to the egg mixture and continue mixing until all incorporated.
  3. Place the flours, soda, and salt in a medium bowl and whisk together to mix.  Divide the flour and add to the mixture one batch at a time.  Continue mixing until all ingredients are combined.
  4. In a small bowl mix the cinnamon and turbinado sugar together.
  5. Place half of batter in the bottom of the baking dish.  Top with 1/2 of the cinnamon sugar mixture, and sprinkle with the chocolate chips.
  6. Place the other half of the batter on top and smooth out.  Sprinkle the top with the remaining cinnamon sugar mixture, and bake for 30 minutes.

112010 097

This was a wonderful snack.  This can easily be made with more chocolate chips if you like.  They may even be placed on the top layer if you really want a snack type cake.  The original recipe was made with fruit, so feel free to throw in some fruit in place of the chocolate chips for a great breakfast cake.  Either way, it is delish.  I know what I will be having for breakfast 🙂

112010 098112010 099

And no coffee cake would be complete without a lovely cup of coffee.  Or in this case a lovely glass of iced coffee!

 112010 100

 

DINNER

Now I have to admit that I have not made my dinner yet.  But I know what I will be having, which means I need to make a run to the store! 

Elvis I blame you for this…..

source

But you have me craving bacon!  I think that BLT’s are in order, and since I have beautiful home grown tomatoes from the n-laws I think I should give in to that craving 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER, lunch, Uncategorized

3 responses to “WIAW – Kitchen Aid Edition

  1. I always swore i’d never buy fakin’ bacon but I want to so I can have a BLT once my tomatoes turn red! gah!!! that was MY FAVORITE SANDWICH as a kid! omg and the coffee cake is so fluffy!

    Happy WIAW! So awesome you are liking up now!!! Its about tiiime =)

    love ya like woah!

  2. mmmm, i had bacon last night! you just can’t beat it 🙂

Leave a Reply

