WIAW – catch up edition

See, I’m still alive and kicking!

I know, if I was your mother and I disappeared without a word for several, several days then child services would be involved, your hearts would be broken, and I would go to a place that doesn’t know what the heck a whole food is!

But thank goodness I am not your mother so I will not be going there 🙂

So what have I  been up to lately – nothing.  Absolutely, blissfully nothing!

I have loved every minute of it.  Now I did miss you guys but…..

I have to be honest.  I had no material.  Nope – none!

I haven’t made any new recipes.  I haven’t had the desire to make any new ones.  Since I was doing nothing, I decided to do nothing on the computer as well.  That is except watch Army Wives re-runs on netflix to drown out the boys.  Speaking of which – they are at their grandmother’s.  They have been there since Monday so that means lots o peace in the house 🙂

But I have been a bad girl 😦

Yep, lots o junk to eat.  Now I did eat some good but…..

Mostly bad!  With lots of chocolate and candy mixed in as well.  So here goes!

Peas and Crayons

 

BREAKFAST……

112010 083 112010 082

Pancakes with coffee of course!

 

LUNCH…..

 

source

leftovers from date night – snow crab roll & edemame

 

DINNER…….

 

 

Lot’s o candy at the movies, along with popcorn, and a coke (gasp, I know right!  I almost forgot what coke tasted like) ice cream, frozen yogurt….the bad list goes on and on. 

But I did have some good in there……salads, hummus, tomatoes, apples, peanut butter, the usual snacks that are healthy.  Oh and I made a nice little treat.  You know the “it’s 8:30 p.m. I want something sweet, dessert not candy, so let’s bake brownies”.  Only to discover that your fridge is void of eggs, butter, and milk!  Yikes!!

So we improvised.  I researched several different recipes and adapted a couple to make my wonderful…

Chocolaty Chocolate Brownies

  • 1/4c whole wheat flour
  • 1/2c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/3c cocoa
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1t baking powder
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/2c peanut butter
  • 1/2c applesauce
  • 1t vanilla
  • 1/2c organic brown sugar
  • 1/2c semi sweet chocolate chips
  • more chocolate chips for topping if desired
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Combine all dry ingredients in a medium bowl
  3. Mix together the wet ingredients in a measuring cup
  4. Make a well in the dry ingredients, add the wet ingredients, and mix well
  5. Batter will be thick, spread it into an 8×8 baking dish that has been sprayed with non stick spray or lined with parchment
  6. Bake for approximately 30 minutes or until center is done

Wonderful!  Oh and I may have thrown in some toffee pieces that I had lying in the baking area of the pantry.  The hubster loves toffee 🙂  So go bake yourself some brownies, pull up netflix, and enjoy your evening…..

I am off to go back to do absolutely nothing!

5 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER, lunch, Uncategorized

5 responses to “WIAW – catch up edition

  1. Oh ive missed you since last wiaw but damn girl! enjoy doing nothing!!!! ❤ you totally deserve it! ❤ enjoy love!

    and save me a brownie!

  2. Good for you doing nothing – but i definitely missed you 🙂

  3. Savor your doing nothing time! As soon as the boys are back, you’ll be asking for more!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

