Fun Farm Friday

You like that alliteration going on up there? 

Once I began typing up this post I couldn’t help but go with that title.  Why?  Well for one it’s Friday, for two it has been a fun day, and for three we visited……..

 112010 105  112010 107        

The Blueberry Farm!

We love to visit our local blueberry farm every summer.  It is owned by the most wonderful people!  You drive right up to the edge of the little field area, the have a canopied picnic area where the buckets are kept, grab a bucket, and head to the field to pick.  Once you are finished picking you can go back to the canopy where they have bags for you to place your blueberries in for transport.  You grab a payment envelop, drop you money in the box, and you are on your way home. 

112010 108

So for eight bucks you get a gallon bucket of fresh blueberries.  Of course you can just pay extra money for a gallon of blueberries that are already picked for you but where is the fun in that!

112010 109

So on the drive back home I was dreaming of all of the wonderful things I can do with my berries.  Topping for oats, overnight oats, muffins, mixed in with yogurt, on top of a sandwich thin with nut butter…. on and on.  That is until some little guy decided to interrupt my thoughts with his persistent yelling.

Why is he yelling you may ask?  Because he had a request.  Because he is persistent when he wants your attention.  Because I wasn’t listening to him at the precise moment he wanted me to.  Well, darn it – it’s because he is just like his mama!  You better listen when he talks or there will be h-e- double hockey stick to pay~!

So he made his request.  I tried to talk him out of it.  But like I said – just like his mama.  He will get his way so…….

112010 110

Here is what my kitchen looks like.

Here is what he insisted on making.

112010 111

Blueberry Pie!
  I guess now would be a good time to admit that I have never made a homemade fruit pie.  Truly, I haven’t.  Now a chocolate pie I can do.  A pumpkin pie – yep got it.  Or maybe a fruit cobbler or a crisp.  I can do those for sure!

112010 114

The thing is that I don’t really care for pie crust.  That is why I do not bake homemade pies.  I usually use a graham cracker or a cookie crust for my pumpkin pies for this reason.  Yep, I am the one at the table on Thanksgiving that is scrapping the filling off of her pie crust before eating it. 

112010 115

But how do you tell a five-year-old no?  You don’t!  Or at least not my five-year-old, because remember he is just like his mama!

So I improvised on the pie a little.  I combined two of desserts into one.
112010 117
Blueberry “Crumble” Pie
Pie Crust:
  • 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon turbinado sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 4 tablespoons butter (cold)
  • 1/2 cup ice cold water

Place first five ingredients in a food processor and pulse until you have fine crumb texture.  Slowly add in the cold water just until the dough pulls away from the side and forms a ball.  On a lightly floured surface, roll the ball of dough out to the size that fits your pie plate.  An easy way to get the dough in the plate is by folding it into quarters, place the tip in the middle of the plate, and unfold the dough.  Pinch the ends to form the rim of the crust.

Filling:
  • 3/4 cup turbinado sugar
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 4 cups fresh blueberries

Place the first four ingredients in a measuring cup to mix.  Pour the lemon juice over the blueberries, and then sprinkle with the sugar mixture.  Stir to mix the ingredients together.  Pour into the pie crust. 

Crumb Topping:

  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour 
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  •  

    Place all ingredients into a food processor and pulse until it resembles crumbs.  Spread the mixture over the top of the pie.  Bake your pie in a preheated 425 degree oven for approximately 40-45 minutes.

    112010 116

    As you can see I used a basic pie crust recipe but topped the pie with a crumble topping.  That way we all get what we love to eat in a fresh baked dessert.

    112010 118

    The only thing that could make this pie any better would be some frozen vanilla yogurt and a dollop of fresh whipped cream.  Darn, I think I will have to make a trip to the store now 🙂

    112010 106

    It is wonderful to be able to put such delight into your child’s day.  I love to see that little smile on his face when I give him a treat.  One of the joys I have with my boys at home is spending time in the kitchen with them and for them.  Many times they do not help me cook, but they love to eat what I have made. 

    Kohl is such a kitchen fairy.  He loves to be hands on in the kitchen, and every one around here knows that he loves to eat.   He gets excited when we have fresh baked goods, chocolate, and homemade desserts. 

    After all, he is just like his mama!

    7 Comments

    Filed under baking, DESSERT, Fruit, Louisiana, Uncategorized

    7 responses to “Fun Farm Friday

    1. I really want to pick some fresh fruit!!! I love blueberry crumble so this pie looks right up my alley 🙂

    2. Love it, I can’t believe we both went berry picking on the exact same day! Great minds think alike! Your boys are so sweet and they must have loved that pie, it looks delicious! I plan on making some similar things with my berries this weekend!

    3. I grew up on blueberries! They grow wild at our family cottage, so we’d spend hours every day just popping them in our mouths. Happy blue memories…just like the ones your sons will have when they’re bigger!

    4. Aww how fun!!! I love blueberries, but I’ve never picked my own!

    Leave a Reply

    