Father’s Monday Recap

Happy Tuesday to all of you!  It has been a great day so far, If I must say so myself. 

And by great I mean no laundry to wash today, no floors to clean today, the boys cleaned their own rooms today, and a simple dinner on the menu for tonight!

Yay for great days!!

anniversary 020

So you remember this guy? 

Yep, he is the one that is the love of 1/3 of my life.  The other 2/3’s belong to these two:

blog photos 710 blog photos 709

We celebrated dad last night with one of his all time favorite meals.  He honestly enjoys most anything I cook.  I do occasionally cook something that he doesn’t really like, but he will usually eat it anyway 🙂

Such a lucky woman!!

Which means that for his special day (i.e. Father’s Day/Birthday) he gets one of his favorites no matter how unhealthy it may be.  Fortunately for me he has some pretty darn good eating habits!  On the menu:

  • Meatloaf (made with venison)
  • oven roasted corn on the cob
  • green peas
  • roasted-mashed potatoes

I was lucky enough to score some fresh corn on the cob the other day, and I decided to save it for our special meal.  It was hard looking at those lovely ears of corn daily without giving in.

 112010 122  

Oven Roasted Corn

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Peel back the husks of the corn to check the ears.  If the ends need to be broken off, break them, and replace the husks
  • Place corn in husks on a baking pan and bake in the oven for approximately 30 minutes

112010 123

112010 124

Once you taste oven roasted corn on the cob, I promise you will never boil your corn again! 

Of course I can’t stop there.  Oh no!  We have to roast potatoes as well.  But not just roast them.  Mash them!  One of my favorite ways to eat potatoes are oven roasted. 

The hubster of course prefers to have mashed potatoes with his meatloaf.  So I combined the best of both!

112010 125

  • roast potato chunks in the oven with olive oil, salt, & pepper
  • once tender, place in a bowl, and mash with a potato masher
  • stir in a tablespoon of butter
  • add milk a little at a time until you get to your desired creaminess

Love, love, love these potatoes!  You get the creaminess of a nice bowl of mashed potatoes, with the wonderful taste of roasted potatoes. 

Now no celebratory meal would be complete without a wonderful dessert……

 112010 126 112010 127 

Sweet, cold watermelon 🙂

112010 128

We are slightly addicted to watermelon in the Helen, Naturally household.  This huge one will probably last us until the weekend.  No seriously, between the four of us, we will need another one soon!

112010 129

So there you have it, our Father’s Day celebration…..now if you will excuse me I have to go munch on some melon!

6 Comments

Filed under baking, DINNER, Fruit, Louisiana, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Father’s Monday Recap

  1. Looks like fun, Helen! Roasted corn is definitely the best I agree, either that way or grilled in the husk is my favorite! Happy belated Father’s Day to your hubby!

  2. Gah, I’m loving all the summer food you’re eating! For some reason, I’m super cheap and never buy watermelon, but I need to get over myself and pick one up next time I go to the store. I can’t wait for corn to be fully in season here!

    • Girl I come from a neighboring parish famously known in LA for the watermelons! Anyone that buys a melon here…buys a Washington Parish melon. Sinc they are locally grown we get a them cheap 🙂

  3. All of your boys are so handsome! The corn and the watermelon is so beautiful. I’m sometimes envious of people who live in warmer climates because they dont have to wait as long for local produce!

Leave a Reply

