WIAW: Best of….

Happy Hump Day!

I love Wednesday’s….don’t you? 

It means the week is half over.  It means two short days until the weekend.  It means my blog post practically writes itself thanks to Jenn over at Peas & Crayons!

 Peas and Crayons

Why?…..because it is What I Ate Wednesday!  A great link party hosted by none other than the fabulous Jenn 🙂

So let me give you a little taste of what I ate this week.  Instead of giving you my eats for the day, I have decided to give you the best eats of my week so far!

  112010 120 112010 121 112010 123 112010 128 112010 130  112010 108112010 102 112010 117

  • almost Elvis pancakes w/ grilled banana
  • oven roasted corn
  • watermelon
  • peanut butter chocolate chip cookies
  • blueberries
  • overnight oats w/ blueberries
  • blueberry pie
  • boiled crawfish

I know it doesn’t seem like a well rounded meal plan.  I promise other items where a part of my meals, theses are just some of the best.  Other items include things like:

  • tomato sandwiches
  • hummus & carrots
  • yogurt
  • coffee
  • water (always)
  • salads
  • grilled sausage

So I have enjoyed lots of foods lately!  But I must tell you, I was super excited when I baked these wonderful cookies!

112010 132

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies (adapted from Clean Eating Mag)

INGREDIENTS:
  • 1c natural peanut butter
  • 1/2c powdered sugar 
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2t baking soda
  • 1/4t sea salt
  • 4T semi-sweet chocolate chips
INSTRUCTIONS:
  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. In a medium bowl, stir together first 5 ingredients until blended. Stir in chocolate.
  2. Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until lightly browned. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes. Remove to a wire rack and let cool for 15 more minutes.

112010 131

Finally a cookie that we do not have to feel guilty about eating.  I have to admit that I was skeptical about this cookie when I came across the original recipe, but it is a tasty one.  The original recipe calls for almond butter, and for 3/4 cup of natural sugar.  I substituted powdered sugar and decreased it to 1/2 cup.  The substitute was made because I was out of organic turbinado sugar.  Needless to say it is time for groceries in our household!  Of course you can add the full amount of sugar if you would like.  I for one love the taste of peanut butter so I didn’t need it.  Not to mention that the chocolate chips gives the cookies the sweetness they need!

So go throw a batch of these together and enjoy…guilt free!

10 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, DINNER, Fruit, lunch, Uncategorized

10 responses to “WIAW: Best of….

  1. Blueberries are my absolute favorite fruit! I am dreaming about blueberry pie now.! 🙂

  2. Looks like great meal highlights. I like the idea of highlighting the things from the week. That’s probably what I would do too. I always think of contributing to WIAW but I never feel like I have a day’s worth of yummy enough and creative enough sounding meals.

  3. Such yummy eats! I have never tried powdered sugar in cookies. I think that it would make them moist right? I love PB cookies 🙂

  4. Suck the heads and pinch the tails 🙂 Loving that short ingredient list for the cookies and they look so fluffy and delicious! I almost always reduce the sugar a recipe calls for and I’ve never thought anything wasn’t sweet enough.

  5. Blueberries on the bush. You’re killing me here. I can’t wait until berry season! My favourite time of the year!

Leave a Reply

