Confessions of a Blogger – part 3

112010 109

I have been putting blueberries into EVERYTHING!

112010 127

I am eating watermelon like it is my J-O-B.

Often I eat way more carbs than protein, like tonight’s dinner – leftover pasta from last night with a pb&j sandwich on the side.  Hey I can’t let leftovers go to waste, and I was craving peanut butter!

No matter how many times you try to convince me – I just think it is easier to buy hummus as opposed to making it.  After all, tahini is expensive!

112010 135 

I had cake and ice cream for breakfast!

112010 136

Now don’t look at me like I am crazy.  This morning I wanted pancakes, but I also wanted something cold for breakfast because hello I live in Louisiana – nough said!  So I sat at the table with my coffee trying to decide what to do.  I opted for pancakes with a smoothie on the side.  That would give me the best of both worlds.  Well, while pulling out the ingredients for the smoothie the light bulb went off.  Why do we have to have syrup for pancakes.  Why can’t we have a cold topping?  Why can’t we have a smoothie influenced topping.  I knew the smoothie would need to be thick to use as a topping for hot pancakes.  Well since it needs to be thick why make a smoothie – soft serve!!! 

112010 137

This was A-MAZ-ING 🙂

Pancakes

  • 1/2 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2T flaxseed
  • 1t baking soda
  • cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2t almond extract (vanilla will work as well)
  • 1 cup milk of choice
  • vanilla stevia drops

Combine all ingredients together until just blended.  Preheat your griddle, and cook pancakes until golden brown on both sides.

112010 138

Strawberry-Banana Soft Serve

  • couple pieces of frozen banana
  • couple frozen strawberries

Place both items in a food processor with a dash of milk and process until smooth and creamy.

112010 139

This is the perfect treat for a hot summer morning, so glad I had this thought 🙂

So go ahead make this for yourself.  Make it for your loved ones.  Who cares if they look at you like you are crazy for putting soft serve on top of hot pancakes!

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Louisiana, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Confessions of a Blogger – part 3

  1. Please Please Please write a pancake cookbook 🙂 You have the most amazing and delicious and pancake recipes 🙂
    ANd pretty pics of the blueberries

  2. I am seriously drooling over everything in this post! I’ve been eating watermelon like crazy too! And the pancakes topped with soft serve? Amazing!! 🙂

  3. That is A LOT of bluebs. Need help eating them? 😉

    Whitney

  4. I don’t think eating lots blueberries or watermelon is a bad thing 🙂 Also, I agree that buying hummus is just a lot easier than making it. Tahini *is* expensive, although I made some hummus this week that didn’t even have tahini — score!! Those pancakes look great!

  5. I tried this once and its amazing!!!
    Love your pictures and honestly when am i not craving a pb&j sandwich 🙂

  6. yummo. that watermelon look delish. and who doesn’t love a good pb&j on soft bread.

    http://laurenlanzaosias.blogspot.com
    giveaway time with shabby apple…

  7. i hear ya on needing cold for breakfast in the summer! it’s so hot in TX right now!

  8. BRILLIANT! I love the idea of using soft-serve over pancakes. Love, love, love!

Leave a Reply

