Got Plans?

It’s that time of year again!

The time when you are to gather your loved ones together for picnics, water play, plenty of outdoor fun, and fireworks!  I am not sure about you, but July 4th is bittersweet for me.  I love our independence, I love my country, and I love what the holiday stands for.  I love the foods, the friends & family, the water…..I don’t love being outside in Louisiana heat!

But for a wonderful fun filled day with the kiddos, I think I can withstand the heat just a little while.  Especially when you have this to look forward to……..

112010 163

Cherry-Berry Soft Serve Stuffed Crepes

Crepes

  • 1/4c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1/4c whole wheat flour
  • 1/4t salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2c almond milk
  • splash vanilla extract
  • few drops stevia

Mix the batter in a medium bowl, preheat griddle, and spoon the mixture out super thin about the size of a tortilla shell.  Cook for a few minutes, very carefully flip, and cook another minute on the opposite side.  Place on a platter until ready to stuff.

Soft Serve

  • 1/4c frozen cherries
  • 1/4c frozen blueberries
  • splash of milk
  • few drops of stevia

Add all ingredients into a food processor and process until smooth and creamy.

Assemble

  • spoon soft serve mixture onto open crepe
  • fold the crepe in quarters
  • serve with additional soft serve on top

112010 164

Of course the soft serve began melting and oozing during the photo session, but let me tell you……oh my word!  This is so good.  It was a wonderful breakfast for a hot day.  And it is made with items that are red, white, and blue to boot 🙂

********************************************************************************************************

Now I promised to share a wonderful recipe with you guys yesterday.

112010 161

My spice rubbed pork loin with mustard BBQ sauce is an old recipe that was in Cooking Light several years ago.  The family enjoyed it so much that it made it’s way into our “make again” recipe binder.  It is a nice change from your traditional sauce, not to mention free of ingredients such as high fructose corn syrup!  It is so hard to find a good, natural bbq sauce from the shelf due to all of the crazy ingredients that are added to them.  So why not make your own? 

Which is what you will do with this recipe.  You can find the recipe here.  It is the one that I use without any changes.  Of course the link has the meat pictured shredded and on rolls, which I am sure is just as tasty, but we prefer to slice the pork loin and serve it with the sauce spooned on top. 

So make a wonderful Independence Day breakfast, and a wonderful sauce to go with whatever you choose to grill that day.  The neighbors will be fighting over who is spending the day with you!  I will have a nice picnic friendly dessert to share with you guys tomorrow 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DINNER, Fruit, Louisiana, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Got Plans?

  1. Those look delicious, Helen! I enjoy July 4th but I’d have to agree with you about being out in the heat. We usually avoid it and just go outside when it’s time for fireworks (aka, when it’s cooled down enough to be bearable).

  2. I need a whole file just to store all your awesome breakfast recipes!!!!! Love this one as i’m a total crepe fan and was craving them just the other day – i never ever thought of having them for breakfast for some crazy reason!
    Have a lovely long weekend 🙂

  3. It’s not hot here yet this year. Tomorrow’s our special day (July 1st – Canada Day). Hope you have a fantastic weekend!

  4. Don’t tease me with those crepes, Helen! Is it already unbearable over there in LA? I was there last August and it was pretty darn hot.

Leave a Reply

