Breakfast – Worth it!

Let’s talk breakfast for a few moments shall we!

112010 193

I love breakfast.  It is by far my favorite meal of the day.  Not to mention the most important meal of the day.

I wasn’t always a breakfast person.  My morning use to consist of a cup of coffee.  That’s it!  Okay, okay two cups actually.  I didn’t eat anything for breakfast for years.  Oh I would eat eventually.  Usually about four hours after waking.  Which wasn’t exactly lunch time.  This would mean that I would grab a “snack” before lunch.  Not a good snack either!

I eventually started eating breakfast.  Of course being in a rush it wasn’t a healthy breakfast.  I would stock my pantry and desk drawers with breakfast bars filled with junk.  Or yogurt containers filled with junk.  Or instant oatmeal packs filled with junk.  Or….well you get the picture.

So how did I change my perspective?  I wasn’t easy at first.  I was reading a new book I had received called The Eat Clean Diet book.  This was a suggestion from a personal trainer friend of mine.  So I read the book, which encouraged me to do more research on eating clean, which lead to me changing my eating habits a bit.  I say a bit because I have always been a lover of vegetables, fruits, grains, etc. 

This opened my eyes to the importance of breakfast, fuel needed for my body, and the dangers of processed foods.  Once I began eating clean I realized that other foods really did taste kind of yucky.  I mean has anyone tasted Jiff peanut butter lately?  I am not talking about the natural one either.  I mean the old peanut butter that you grew up loving.  It is like paste and tastes horrible.  So I realized how wonderful natural foods are.

I started with a goal of eating breakfast every morning.  It was easy at first because I was home for the summer.  This was a great help because by the time school started back I was use to a good, healthy breakfast. 

112010 189

I had to make some compromises once that happened.  So what did I do?  I made it a point to wake up early enough to ensure I would have time for my breakfast.  I would also keep them simple by eating scrambled eggs with toast or oatmeal.  But I soon discovered another simple method to breakfast.

  112010 190     

I would pre-mix my pancake mixture. 

  • large jar
  • 1c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1c whole wheat flour
  • 1.5t baking powder
  • 1/2 baking soda
  • 1/4t salt

Mix all ingredients together and place in the jar until ready to use.

In the morning I would add egg, sweetener, and milk – cook, and enjoy.  Of course at this point toppings would be kept simple due to time constraints.  A little maple syrup, possibly some fruit that is already sliced in the fridge, or nut butter.

112010 191

This morning I had additional time to spend because I am still on summer break.  So I took advantage of my time.  I made granola pancakes. 

112010 192

And I made them with a hint of lemon and whipped egg whites.  This makes a nice soft pancake.

  • 1/4c pancake mix
  • 1/4c almond milk
  • lemon zest and juice from a quartered segment of lemon
  • 1 egg white
  • vanilla stevia drops

Mix the pancake mix, lemon zest, lemon juice, and milk together.  In a medium bowl whip the stevia and egg whites until soft peaks form.  Gently fold the egg whites into the pancake batter.  Pour batter onto griddle and top with granola mix of choice.

112010 195

Oh, and I also made blueberry syrup to top them with!

  • 1/4c blueberries
  • 2T water (if using frozen berries omit water)
  • 1-2T honey or sweetener of choice
  • 1t cornstarch mixed with 1t water

Place first three ingredients in a small saucepan on medium heat and bring to a simmer.  Mash the berries with a fork.  Mix the cornstarch and water together and pour into blueberries.  Cook while stirring until thickened.  Cool and Serve.

112010 194

A-MAZ-ING 🙂     

This sauce/syrup is yummy on all kinds of treats from pancakes to yogurt to ice cream.  You can also increase he recipe to make a bigger batch and store in a mason jar in the fridge.  That way you can enjoy a quick breakfast of pancakes and blueberry syrup anytime! 

112010 196

Because some mornings are just hectic and a little additional help is needed 🙂

*****************************

Heads up – awesome giveaway coming up on Helen, Naturally soon 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Breakfast – Worth it!

  1. Those pancakes look so good! I used to be the same way, never ate breakfast for years. And on the off chance that I did have breakfast, it was a tiny bowl of cold cereal…not enough at all! Breakfast really is the meal of champions, I’m so glad I changed my ways and looks like you are too! 🙂

  2. Blueberry syrup??? Yes please!
    I wish i could eat your breakfasts every day!!!
    I made blueberry rice pudding this morning, it looked awful but tasted SO good 🙂

  3. i need to get this eat clean book. love the sound of a yummy breakfast 🙂

Leave a Reply

