Cocotte Brunch

Don’t you love French?  I surely do!  It is such a beautiful language.  Such a beautiful culture.  Such wonderful food.

Now if I could just learn the language and live in the culture.

But at least I can eat the wonderful food!

I love to make French cuisine.  I don’t cook it as often as I would like, but I am always pleased with any recipe I try.  So when I saw this lovely little dish on the food network the other day, I knew I had to give it a go.

   112010 208 

Now the original dish would be called Eggs En Cocotte.  Which in French basically means Eggs cooked (in butter) in a pot.  It is an oven baked egg dish.  With lots o butter.  We all know that the French is known for their rich food!

While that sounds nice I decided that I didn’t need the butter, but I did need some other food to go along with it!

Breakfast En Cocotte (from Claire Robins)

  • grits
  • sausage of choice
  • eggs
  • cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Cook the grits according to package directions, season with salt & pepper.  Scramble the sausage in a saucepan until crumbled and brown.
  3. Spray ramekin with non-stick spray

112010 205

  1. Spoon grits into the bottom of the ramekin

112010 206

2.  place sausage crumbles on top

112010 207

3.  Top with egg, season with salt & pepper

Bake in oven for 15 minutes if you want the yolk under-cooked.  Leave in another 5 minutes or so for well cooked yolks

Top with cheese during the last few minutes of cooking time to melt (I used feta)

I didn’t provide any measurements for this recipe due to the fact that it changes depending on how many ramekins you want to make.  If you are cooking for one, then you would obviously make (1)serving of grits, scramble 1-2  sausage patties, and top with (1)egg.  So you will adjust the recipe to your needs!

112010 209

This was a wonderful brunch.  It was like a burst of flavors in my mouth!  The hubster loved it as well 🙂

Profiter de votre repas! (enjoy your meal)

***********************************************************************

Remember to enter my GIVEAWAY!

4 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Cocotte Brunch

  1. Quelle surprise! Ca a l’air delicieux! I would eat this for breakfast any day. 🙂

  2. This is something my husband would LOVE for breakie! I’m going to surprise him one of these days and whip this up for him. I think I need to look for a veggie substitute for sausage so I can make one for myself too!

Leave a Reply

