Would you like some fries with that?

When you think about the ultimate American food what enters your mind?

Do you think of steak?  Hot dogs?  Pizza?

Well I think of hamburgers.  There are many recipes for various burgers floating around.  Some made with beef, lamb, chicken.  But I must admit I am dying to try some of those that are made with beans!

However, in order to convince the husbster to try a bean burger, I would have to sedate him first…lol!

But I do know a thing or two about the perfect side item to a hamburger…Fries!

You see I have made sweet potato fries, home fries, even squash fries.

112010 202 

But these beauties are by far my favorite!

112010 201

Okra Fries

  • okra pods, tops removed, halved
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper
  • cajun seasoning
  1. Preheat oven to 450
  2. Place okra pods onto baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil
  3. Sprinkle seasonings onto okra, stir to coat well
  4. Bake for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally

So run to your local farmer’s market and grab up some okra.  Go on this minute.  Don’t worry I will wait for you….

You will fall in love with these wonderful fries as much as I have.  No condiment is needed, but if you choose they are wonderful dipped in a little ketchup 🙂 

7 Comments

Filed under baking, DINNER, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Would you like some fries with that?

  1. Gah, okra is not exactly common in Colorado, BUT I did find some at the Farmers’ Market last year so I’m hoping it’ll happen soon this year! I would love to try these!

  2. Id’ NEVER had okra until like a month ago! I’m not from the south, and we didn’t have it in Ohio! haha but I did really like it! Okra fries sound awesome! Have you ever tried parsnip “fries”? they’re a little funky, but I like ’em!

  3. ooo, yum! i’ve never tried okra fries. adding it to the ever growing list of future experiments 🙂

  4. What a great idea! I love these! I have never used okra!

Leave a Reply

