Southern Made

There are many things that I love about living in the south.  I love that we have festivals for everything.  I love that we have unbelievable seafood.  I love that we have Mardi Gras & king cakes….

But most of all I love that we have good ol’ southern cooking!

Like this wonderful southern “Jiffy” cornbread.

112010 211

The Lawfully Wedded Wife had a past several days ago about this wonderful food!  She made corn muffins with the same basic recipe that I use, but  I make mine sweet like Jiffy – cuz the hubster likes it that way.  Only this time I subbed in some stevia to make it a little more healthier…..trying to play around with some recipes.  The husbster loved it!

Southern Cornbread

  • 1c cornmeal
  • 1c unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2t. baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt
  • 2T NuNaturals stevia baking blend
  • 1T honey/maple syrup/turbinado sugar (I used honey)
  • 2 egg whites 
  • 1 1/4 c. skim milk
  • 1/3 c applesauce
  1. -Mix the cornmeal, flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and stevia together in a mixing bowl.
  2. -In a separate small bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients.
  3. -Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and gently stir.  Don’t over mix, you should have some lumps.
  4. -Grease a cast iron skillet and pour the batter in.
  5. -Bake at 400 degrees for about 20-30 minutes, or until golden brown and cooked through.

 112010 210

This is wonderful!  I was so happy that the hubster approved.  Now I have a recipe to make our bread healthier with natural ingredients 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under baking, DINNER, Louisiana, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Southern Made

  1. Mm, that sounds so good! Have you ever had jalapeno cornbread? There’s a restaurant in Chicago that has the best jalapeno cornbread ever!!

  2. I try to love cornbread but it never does it for me, something about bread being too sweet? I really need to try it again i think!
    Glad the hubby approved Helen 🙂

  3. Traci

    This looks yummy! I am from the South and trying to make low fat Southern fare is not always the easiest thing to do ya’ll! So I can’t wait to try this one, thank you so much for this, my Mama would even like this!!

    xoxoxo
    Traci

  4. I’m behind on posts, sorry about that, but I’m so glad you tweaked the recipe to your taste and enjoyed it! My hubster likes it sweet too, so I usually alternate! Haha!

Leave a Reply

