Just a Kiss….

source

There are days where I could just kiss myself for what I have done.

Like on the days that I had my babies – I made those bodies from scratch thankyouverymuch! 

Or the day that I married the hubster – yeah he and his friends just thought he couldn’t be tamed 🙂

When I completed my Grad degree in Speech-Language Pathology.

112010 250       

Unfortunately today is not one of those days that makes me want to kiss myself……but it just may be the day that you want to kiss me!

112010 246

Yeah, yeah we will get to that later………

So it is Friday which usually makes everyone super giddy.  Unfortunately for me I was not giddy today.  Of course when you have the summers off Friday is not such a special day anymore.  Unless it is payday.  Or the day you leave for the beach.  Nope, neither of those things happened today.  No giddiness.  Instead it is a Friday that causes me to be sad.  Why?  Well for one I registered my babies at their new schools today.  For my new readers you can read about my tragic school episode to catch up. 

So they are now registered in the new schools.  They are now the hornets as opposed to the bulldogs.  I mean who wants to give up being a bull dog to be a hornet?  Bull dogs are bigger, ferocious, scary, and unfortunately get the crap smacked out of them by the hornets in ball games – shhh don’t tell anyone I said that. 

Of course I will be a hornet as well now.  This was our biggest rival school – how in the world will we I change the way I see them?  Guess I better start working on that now! 

But the main reason I am so sad is because my summer break is almost over, and I will be returning to work in approximately two weeks.  In a new school.  With new colleagues.  New students.  Without the “work husband” and my friends 😦

So it’s a good thing that I have this to put a smile on my face – even if only temporarily. 

112010 244

Because unfortunately I will eat this up very soon. 

112010 249

I need a live in baker for the next several weeks to bake this for me daily – any takers?

Spiced Peach-Carrot Bread (adapted from Southern Living)

  • 3/4 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour*
  • 1 cup oat flour*
  • 1/2 cup wheat bran*
  • 1/2 cup NuNaturals More Fiber Baking Blend + 12 packets of stevia powder (or 1 cup sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 cups peeled and chopped fresh, ripe peaches
  • 3/4 cup freshly grated carrots
  • 1/3 cup hazelnut oil (or any oil you have available)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten

1. Preheat oven to 350°. 

2. Stir together flour and next 6 ingredients in a large bowl; add peaches, next 4 ingredients, and toasted pecans, stirring just until dry ingredients are moistened. Spoon batter into a lightly greased 9- x 5-inch loaf pan.

3. Bake at 350° for approximately 1 hour or until a long wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan on a wire rack 5 minutes. Remove from pan to wire rack, and cool completely.

* you may use the flour(s) of choice, just make sure that it measures 2.5 cups.  I used a mixture of the above because it is what I had on hand, and I need to use the wheat bran! 

112010 247

Or you could just eat it hot like me cuz I’m a little impatient at the moment.  How is it?  A-MAZ-ING!  I may have helped myself to two slices right away.  This is one of the best breads I have ever made.  It is nice and (moist-sorry) but also kinda flaky.  It is sweet (yet sugar free), and it tastes like summer and fall mixed together.  I guess you could say it is Sumall bread, hehe!

112010 248

Now don’t you want to kiss me? (major points if you can get where the title comes from)

****

Now for the announcement of the NuNaturals winner:

True Random Number Generator Min: Max: Result: 5 Powered by RANDOM.ORG

Missy

What a great idea for coconut flour! I’ll try this fior sure. I read your blog all the time but rarely comment, but this was so spectacular that I had to! And I will follow on Twitter but I deactivated my FB.
Love all the southern talk (I’m in the fattest state next door) – but I couldn’t help but laugh on the cornbread post. My Nanny always was horrified that anyone would add sugar to their cornbread! She called it “Yankee bread”!! I thought it was so funny (cause I do love Jiffy mix!) but she was adamant!
Anyway, love ur blog and this recipe!

Thanks Missy, love you as well!  Send me your address at helennaturally@gmail.com 🙂

***********

My idea for blogger participation will be announced on Monday!

12 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DESSERT, Fruit, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Just a Kiss….

  1. Traci

    Awww, how very sad for you! 😦 I am so sorry to read this post! Did they have to switch schools??

    Well, in case this looks quite yummy and normally I do not like fruit breads, though Tosca has a blueberry bread I adore, but never less, I may just have to try this!!! Looks quite yummy!

    Back to work soon, huh?

    I have been off so long, I get quite bored, I had a TKR ( can read about this at the ECS) and just had another visit with my surgeon and they want me to have another surgery, sigh, ugh! And she told me she does not want me working AT ALL, that is all fine and dandy, but does not help with the bills, sigh! So I can relate with you though I wish I could work if only to help out!

    xoxoox
    Traci

  2. Missy

    Wow! I am shocked as I totally forgot about the giveaway!
    Thanks so much! I just emailed you.

    I can’t believe it’s school time already. I mean, when I was growing up, we started after Labor Day. Now, kids barely get a summer off.
    You will adjust to the new environment in no time – you’ve got that personality 🙂 it will all be good.
    Another great recipe today as well – it looks delish!

  3. Don’t fret, Helen. Change really freaks me out but I’m sure you will adjust just fine!

  4. I’m sorry you’re having to be forced into such a big change but I’m sure you will handle it like a champ and it will all end up just fine! 🙂

  5. I hated when summer break was almost over! But it would be a lot harder to go back to a completely different environment! You are such a likeable person, that I know u will fit right in 🙂
    ANd peach cobbler is my fav dessert! Could this bread be my next fav bread!

  6. Aww I’m sorry about the school switch! I hope you had a good weekend. This recipe looks AMAZING! I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

