Dutch Baby!

As many of you know, I love pancakes.  I really do!  Give me any kind of pancake and rest assured I will eat it.  Then I will ask for seconds.  Then I will pronounce it to be my favorite type of pancake.  Then I will insist that I have the recipe!

Which is so funny because can a person really have so many favorites!  I have to just be honest and say that it is just to dang hard to pick a favorite.  So of course I was on a quest this week to enjoy as many pancakes as possible. 

   112010 279     

You see work starts back mid week –next week for me.  This means that I will have to alter my breakfasts a little.  No more pancakes during the week, oh no they will have to be saved for the weekend. 

112010 280

Needless to say I am eating pancakes like it is my J-O-B!

112010 241112010 242

You see the beauty in that picture.  No, you can’t see it….well I can!  That is a pear tree.  Full of pears.  I am not sure what type they are.  They are not your typical soft, juicy pear.  In the hubster’s words “they are cooking pears”.  Cooking pears!  Well I think I can handle that 🙂

So I have been eating this little babies daily.  I have grilled them, sautéed them, heck I have even had a few just sliced with nut butter.  They are crunchy like an apple – I like it!

112010 278

But I am suppose to cook with them.  So what better to do than bake?  Bake a pancake!

112010 277112010 283

Pear Dutch Baby

  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4c almond milk (heated)
  • 1/2c flour of choice
  • 1/4c cornstarch
  • pinch salt
  • 2t vanilla extract
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 2 small pears, sliced
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Place pan (I used iron skillet) in oven while preheating.
  2. Heat the milk in the microwave until luke warm
  3. Place egg in blender and blend.  Add the milk to the eggs (a little at first to temper). 
  4. Next add the remaining ingredients through the stevia.  Blend for about 30 seconds or until combined
  5. Spray skillet with non-stick spray.  I put one tablespoon of butter in the bottom of the skillet to melt for flavor.  You can leave this out if you choose.
  6. Pour the batter into pan, top with pear slices, and bake for about 20-25 minutes.

Now top that beauty with whatever you choose.  You can sprinkle with powdered sugar, or you can top with honey, maple syrup, and even a little whipped cream if you have any 🙂

112010 281

112010 282

So go ahead.  Serve this up to your loved ones.  It’s okay to have pancakes for dinner.  I promise they will love it.  They will request seconds.  They will announce it as their favorite pancake ever and request the recipe!

8 Comments

Filed under baking, Breakfast, DINNER, Fruit, Uncategorized

8 responses to “Dutch Baby!

  1. You know, I’ve never been a fan of pears. Odd, I know. It’s definitely one fruit I could live without. Dutch babies, on the other hand, are okay with me. If only because the name sounds so cute 😛

  2. How awesome that you have fresh pears for cooking! This looks so yummy, a great way to use them.

  3. Hmm would it taste good if I substituted the pears for blueberries? I love blueberries 🙂 Oh Helen, your meat post scared me that I ate a spring mix salad and cantalope for lunch! hehe

  4. Gasp! That is now officially MY favourite pancake, and I haven’t even tasted it yet. I don’t even have to. It’s beautiful! And I want some!

Leave a Reply

