WIAW – Anniversary Edition

Happy Wednesday to you all!

 Peas and Crayons

Today is my first day back at work for the new school year….what!  As you are reading this I am sitting in a meeting.  A meeting that starts at 8:00 and will last until around 3:15ish. 

That’s not the worst of it.  Oh no, there’s more!  Tomorrow is another meeting from 8:00 until around 3:15.  Then guess what? Friday is another one from…..yep you guessed it 8:00 until 3:15!

What are they trying to do to us?

So you are getting a dose of Tuesday’s meals and snacks.  Today I give you what I ate on the last day of summer break…..I love rhymes…..but it is also what I ate on my anniversary 🙂

 

BREAKFAST

072011 089

072011 091  

  • lemon-blueberry pancakes (recipe coming soon)
  • coffee

 

LUNCH

 072011 095072011 093

  • broccoli & cheese lasagna (recipe coming soon)
  • salad
  • water

 

SNACKS

 072011 092072011 081

072011 082

  • Kashi cereal
  • fro-yo with boys (right after lunch)
  • sandwich thin with peanut butter, banana, and cinnamon
  • water

 

DINNER

 072011 083

072011 084

  • black bean burgers
  • potato salad
  • tea

 DESSERT (hey it’s a special day!)

 072011 085

  • watermelon-mint granita

As you already know, we celebrated our anniversary with a trip to the beach.  We do this every year on the weekend before due to my school year starting the week of.  Which is why we eat at home for our anniversary.  I usually cook one of our favorite meals complete with dessert, but my heart just wasn’t in to spending all afternoon at the stove whipping up some seafood pasta dish, salad, bread, and dessert.  So we decided on simple, summer foods this year.  Beef burgers for the hubster, Mama Peas black bean  burgers for me.  They are A-MAZ-ING! 

072011 086

The hubster loves potato salad with his burgers so I whipped up a nice bowl of the stuff and served some wonderful watermelon mint sorbet for dessert!  Super simple to make and very tasty. 

072011 087

  • 1c water
  • 2-3 packets of stevia
  • handful mint leaves
  • 5-6 cups of watermelon chunks
  1. Place water, stevia, and mint leaves on stove.  Bring to a simmer, remove from heat to cool.
  2. Place watermelon into a blender and blend until smooth.
  3. Strain watermelon mixture into a bowl, strain water in, and stir.
  4. Place in the freezer and stir around every hour or so

See I told you it was super simple.  If you do not have mint leaves no worry, just leave them out.  This was perfect for a special meal on a summer day 🙂

Now please say a small prayer for me….all day meeting……new school…..new faces…..HELP!

8 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, DESSERT, DINNER, Fruit, lunch, Uncategorized

8 responses to “WIAW – Anniversary Edition

  1. Hope your first day back is going well! Thanks for the sorbet recipe, that looks amazing I am going to have to give it a try!

  2. Meetings that long = very bored me!
    Your dessert looks crazy easy and yummy, better add it to my never ending list of things helen made i have to make too 🙂

  3. What a beautiful, intriguing dessert! Sounds like the kind of thing that I would love… Sorry about beginning-of-the-year meetings. I remember those well. Ugh. And in between, of course, you have to find time to set up your classroom and get organized for the first day of school. Good luck! You can do it!

  4. I have to admit it’s extremely weird not having to know or care when school starts again since I won’t be going! It’s bittersweet :/ Sorry about all the long meetings! The sorbet looks beautiful 🙂

  5. what fabulous anniversary eats =) happy belated anniversary again darling!

    the granita looks SO baller! and refreshing!

Leave a Reply

