Need some Pea in your life!

Let’s talk pea shall we.  Yes, I know how to spell correctly.  For those of you with thoughts going through your head, stop!  I do mean pea as opposed to pee.  What do you think I am nuts or something? 

Don’t answer that!

I am talking pea.  As in little green balls, ones with black eyes, you know the kind you eat.  More specifically I am talking pea protein powder.

072011

Have you ever tried pea protein powder?  I haven’t until this past week.  Swanson vitamins was ever so kind enough to send me some products for review.  I have a bag of chia seeds, a jar of coconut oil, and a huge container of pea protein.  I have always wanted to try pea protein.

So what is it? 

Peas are well known for being a rich source of highly bioavailable protein. Additionally, they are free of common allergens. Collectively, this makes pea protein an ideal source of post-workout nutrition for athletes who may have difficulty supplementing with other types of protein. NOW Sports Pea Protein is a non-GMO vegetable protein isolate that contains an impressive 28 grams of easily-digested protein. Each one-scoop serving typically contains over 4,800 mg of branched chain amino acids and over 2,000 mg of L-Arginine. Sports Pea Protein is 100% pure and natural, unflavored, and mixes easily into your favorite beverages. Allergen-Free. Contains no sugar, salt, starch, yeast, wheat, gluten, corn, soy, milk, egg, shellfish or preservatives.

I have to admit I am usually a whey protein kind of girl.  Oh and I also buy the vanilla or chocolate protein powders, but I decided to branch out and try something new.  I have to admit that it is not so bad.  I have had the opportunity to have this in cooked oatmeal, overnight oats, and smoothies.  I didn’t care for it in the overnight oats, strange after taste, but it was fine in the other two options.  For anyone that wants to use a protein powder other than whey, I would suggest giving this a try!

Now as I said I was sent some coconut oil as well.  The oil was in a jar type container, with a seal; however, I had coconut oil on everything in the box??  I can’t figure it out.  I had to break the seal on the lid, and I still had to remove the covering on the mouth of the jar, so how did coconut oil get everywhere?  Why is the bottom of the box oily?  Who knows!

The coconut oil has a good flavor, you can taste the coco-nutty-ness (yes I made that up) in the oil.  But for the reason listed above, I am not so sure I will be ordering coconut oil again.  This oil does not solidify, it comes as a liquid, and remains that way.  The oil is a good oil for it’s price.

The chia seeds – well do I really have to say much about those to you guys.  We all know that chia seeds are fabulous, and if you don’t then I will tell you it is so worth the splurge.  You must try them!

blog photos 922

So of course when I opened the package I had to use all three products at the same time in a nice big bowl of oatmeal 🙂  

Disclaimer:  Swanson Vitamins sent me the above products for free to review.  I was in no way compensated for my review.  The views in the post are my own opinions.

5 Comments

Filed under Fruit, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Need some Pea in your life!

  1. I’ve been wanting to try pea protein!! I’ve had some pretzels that were made with pea protein powder (I think made from Newman’s Own) and they were really good!

  2. I have a little packet of pea protein in my cabinet that I keep forgetting about! I’m going to get it out right now so that I try it tomorrow!! Thanks for the reminder! 😉

  3. I have yet to find a protein powder that will be my friend. They all seem so chalky to me. ANd just cause I’m a teacher doesn’t mean that I love chalk enough to put it in my oatmeal.

Leave a Reply

