Put me in coach

If you or anyone you know is an athlete then you know how important nutrition is.  Heck even if you are not an athlete you should still know how important nutrition is. 

As all lovers of physical activities know, fueling your body with the appropriate foods is a great big deal.  In order to perform at you optimal level you have to have energy.  In order to get that energy you have to eat foods with the appropriate nutrients.  Are you following me so far?

Good!

Not only are the foods you eat important for your energy, they are also important for your over all health – but you already know that.  So let’s get on with it shall we.

Today I will present you with whole grains.  Yep whole grains.  I enjoy these every morning for breakfast, usually in the form of oatmeal, but occasionally in the form of pancakes/waffles.

Whole grains can help to:

  • Lower LDL cholesterol levels
  • Reduced risk of cardiovascular disease
  • Reduced risk of stroke
  • Reduced risk of diabetes
  • Better weight management
  • Reduced risk of asthma
  • Healthier carotid arteries
  • Healthier blood pressure levels
  • Less gum disease and tooth loss

Which is why I was so excited to have the opportunity to try out a new product full of wonderful whole grains!

  072011 117

Coach’s Oats!  Now being a lover of oats, I was like a kid in a candy store when I received my box of oats.  I would say like a kid on Christmas morning but I would be lying.  I am worse on Christmas morning than a kid, but that’s another story for another day. 

Our difference

What makes Coach’s Oats so good? It’s all part of a process that is so different from other oatmeal, it’s patented!


click photo to enlarge

Coach’s Oats are prepared in an entirely new way. The groats are toasted to bring the natural sugars to the surface of the oat, then cracked into small pieces. This patented Cracked n’ Toasted™ process means that Coach’s Oats are never mushy, always naturally delicious and cook in just 3 to 5 minutes on a stovetop or in the microwave.

That’s the Coach’s Oats difference!

Um you had me at oat’s Coach, but I do like the sound of the whole toasted & cracked thing!

I have really enjoyed this brand of oats.  They cook up wonderfully, and provide you with a bowl full of goodness.  I was super excited to learn that they could also be prepared with the microwave.  Now I am not one to “nuke” my oats often, but being a busy working mom sometimes breakfast has to be “on the go”.  Since I do not eat processed breakfast products then quick cooking oats are ideal for those mornings.  My school doesn’t have a stove available for cooking.  Which means if I can’t eat at home, I can take it with me.  We do have a microwave available.

072011 118

Now I know many of you are saying that quick oats will cook in the microwave in the same amount of time….you are right; however, quick cooking oats are not as nutritionally packed as the Coach’s oats.  Which is why I recommend the brand to anyone that needs to have the microwave option! 

And of course after you enjoy your wonderful bowl of Coach’s oats you will have given your body the nutrition it needs.  You will have jump started the metabolism.  You will have lots of energy, which also means you will be saying – “put me in coach I’m ready to play”!

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Put me in coach

  1. I am laughing soooo hard right now, i read your post title and automatically thought you were saying put me in coach (the store), obviously i have purses on the brain hahahahahaa
    Great review Helen, i wish we had these in canada :)

  2. I love Coach’s Oats! My mom got me a big ol’ bag of them from Costco and they are delicious. I LOVE the texture of them.

  3. I had never heard of Coach’s Oats before but they sure look delicious!!!!!

  4. I switched to whole grains when I graduated highschool..Before I thought it was nasty to eat whole grains and whole wheat :)
    Those oats look yum yummy! :)

  5. It’s been too long since I had a hot bowl of oats…these look yummy!

  6. farrah

    The inside of my nike cap says, “if you have a body, you are an athlete”. So everyone should have their whole grains.

    What did you top your oats with?

Leave a Reply

