Matters of the heart

I do not very often get “serious” here on Helen, Naturally.  But at times the need to be serious is greater than the need to be funny, entertaining, and down right silly.

I would like to share something with you guys today that has touched my heart many times.  Something that most people will never have to be faced with.  Something that many people have never heard of.  Something that will break your heart, but will also touch your life!

Let me back up just a moment.  While at church last Sunday, our youth pastor’s wife shared some news with us.  No not about her.  But about a very special person. 

You see she works at a local bank where we live.  She wanted to share with the church that she had the honor to open a benefit account for a very special person.  A person that has touched many lives in the surrounding areas that we live in.  A person that we have all become familiar with.  A story so heartbreaking, but one that fills you heart.  The story of a mother’s unconditional love.

As a mother myself, M’s words really touched my heart in church.  I have gone back and forth for the past week about this story.  Not sure if I should share this with my blog friends.  I decided that if I am still going back to this after a week of consideration, then I need to share this story……

Meet Tripp.  He is a wonderful two-year-old little boy.  Tripp was diagnosed with EB (epidermolysis bullosa) which is a very rare skin disease.  It causes blisters of the skin and mucous membranes.  This poor baby can not be touched at all or he will blister.  He literally blisters from the inside out. 

M’s plea for him in church really hit home as a mom.  She is a mom of a young son herself.  We all take for granted being able to hold our babies, touch them, hug them, and kiss them.  In M’s words “ I can not imagine how it feels to not be able to hug and kiss your child without causing him harm”.  Breaks. Your. Heart.

So I wanted to share this story with you guys.  I wanted to make a plea for little Tripp.  His mama was a registered nurse with a promising future.  She was handed a beautiful baby boy in May of 2009.  She still has that beautiful baby boy.  Unfortunately she had to quit work in order to care for her son.  As we all know in this economy it is difficult to survive with the loss of an income.  On top of that she has to pay out of pocket for some of the medications needed for little Tripp due to some not covered by insurance.  However, this mother is always smiling and thanking people for their prayers and support. 

So I am asking that my wonderful blogging community take time to visit her blog where she documents their journey.  I am also asking that you please keep this family in prayer.  The prayers of our community help them tremendously.  It is free.  It is easy.  It is needed.    

  http://randycourtneytripproth.blogspot.com/ .  Please take a moment to visit her site and say a small prayer for the family.  

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Matters of the heart

  1. I am at a loss for words but will say she is one strong woman and a loving mom! I will be hugging my little Doozer a little closer tonight and will try to not take the small things for granted. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Thank you for sharing this helen. I can’t even imagine the struggles that this Mama is going through…and the pain that the little baby is going through…I am at a loss as to what to say, but I am truly grateful for you sharing this with me. Maybe there is something we can do in this incredible blog world… 🙂

  3. Oh goodness, what a heartbreaking story. Glad you decided to share. Posts are the best when it’s something you’re passionate about and I can definitely tell that this is something that really touched you. I hope Tripp and his mom can get the help they both need 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness, I’m so glad that you shared Tripp’s story. I can’t even imagine how that must feel to face something like that. It really puts things into perspective and makes me thankful for what I have.

Leave a Reply

