Salted Dark Chocolate….

Mmmm, sorry!  I didn’t get to finish typing out the post title since I was whisked away to food heaven for a moment.  You know what I mean.  The minute you take that bite you just have to stop what you are doing, close your eyes, and fall in love with your food 🙂

072011 194  

Yeah that is what I had to do.

I made a treat.  One of my favorites.  One of the family’s favorites.  Only this time I gave it a little twist….or two!

With nothing else to do on a Saturday night, darn you LEE, I made a date with the oven.  And the flour.  And chocolate…the dark variety. 

I also threw in a little something extra.  Coarse sea salt. 

Do I have your attention now?  Good!

Because I’ve been bad.   No one likes to be bad all by themselves!

If this post doesn’t excite you on a Saturday night, then this treat may not be for you.  You may want to have a Happy Hour Sunrise Monster.

But if chocolate and sea salt make you giddy on Saturday nights…..then read on!

072011 195

I made a huge batch of these.  You know with intentions of using them for lunchbox treats.  Some did make their way into the lunch box.  Only because I had to test my willpower.  It is really hard to remind yourself not to eat something because you need them for school snacks.  That is what happens when you bake school snacks three days before you need them 🙂

I may have eaten like four several when they came from the oven.  That’s not counting what the boys ate.  Let’s just say we put a big ol dent on that tray. 

Sea Salted Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 3/4c brown sugar
  • 1/2c organic sugar
  • 1c stick butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1c white whole weat flour
  • 1+1/4c unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1t baking soda
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1/2 to 3/4 package of dark chocolate chips
  • coarse sea salt
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Mix the butter, sugars, and egg in mixing bowl until creamed.
  3. Mix the flours, soda, and salt in a bowl.  Slowly add to the sugar mixture
  4. Dough will be thick.  Stir in chocolate chips.
  5. Using a spoon, spoon batter onto ungreased cookie sheet.
  6. Sprinkle with coarse sea salt and bake for 10 minutes.

072011 196

Now go pour yourself a big glass of almond milk and get to eating.  It’s okay to eat more that one.  Even more than two.  Honestly if you eat like six, I promise not to tell.  Just be sure to clean up your crumbs.  Smile when someone walks by. 

But be prepared to share when they notice that huge tray of cookies.  I do mean huge.  It  makes three dozen cookies 🙂

Like I said.  I’ve been bad…..but it tastes so good!

5 Comments

Filed under baking, CHOCOLATE, DESSERT, Uncategorized

5 responses to “Salted Dark Chocolate….

  1. Only four? Thats called self control, i’ve eaten like half a dozen of my muffins since sunday night, it hasn’t been pretty 🙂

  2. Yummy! Need to make these soon! 😀

  3. Justina

    Can I have one? lol They look so pretty! I can’t help but stare at the watermelon in your header. I think it’s making me drool on my keyboard 😦

Leave a Reply

