Things are getting smooth

Since I had time this past weekend and holiday to do nothing…..you know because of the TROPICAL STORM, I decided to take the time to come up with some actual recipes for some of my favorites.

Darn you LEE!

072011 193

I say come up with recipes.  I actually mean – I am trying to put measurements to something I just throw together.  You know how it is.  We cook.  We bake.  We concoct.  We often just throw things together, taste, adjust, taste, then claim it to be perfect.  We follow the same pattern every time we make something. 

072011 188

This is the process I use for most of my smoothies.  I never have an actual recipe.  It goes a little like this – yep I think these ingredients sound tasty together, throw them all in the blender, mentally prepare yourself for what comes out. 

Am I the only one that does this?

I didn’t think so.  So I put some numbers to two of my favorite beverages.  I have a few more left to do.  Hopefully I can get it right.  If it doesn’t sound right, you know what to do.  Throw your own measurements into a blender, then hope for the best 🙂

 072011 187    

Sunrise Breakfast Smoothie

  • 1/4c almond milk
  • 3/4c orange juice
  • 1/4c oats
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/4c frozen mango chunks (can use pineapple)
  • 1T ground flax
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 2T protein powder
  • stevia vanilla drops

Place the oats, milk, and orange juice in the fridge to soak for at least an hour.  I usually do this the night before.  Then throw all ingredients into a blender, blend until creamy!

072011 189

This recipe is a thicker smoothie which makes it perfect for breakfast.  That and it contains protein and carbs.  A good start to a day.  This thing saves my life on many mornings.

Now that I have introduced you to the sunrise version of smoothies, let’s talk happy hour 🙂

You know you like happy hour.  I like happy hour.  Although occasionally my happy hours aren’t so happy.  They have to be more kid friendly if you know what I mean….

072011 190

Happy Hour Sunrise Monster

  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2c mango chunks or pineapple chunks
  • 1T ground flax
  • 1T chia seeds
  • 1T coconut flour
  • handful of spinach leaves
  • a little vodka or rum (you know if you are having an actual happy hour)

Place all ingredients into the blender, blend until smooth and creamy 🙂

072011 191

Now that my friends is a perfect happy hour drink.  Who says you can’t have alcohol at 4:00, I mean you do have some veggie action going on as well.  Just make sure the kiddos pick up the right glass.  Or just follow my rule. 

If it is in the wine glass it is mommies, the plastic cup belongs to you :

Have a happy “Happy Hour”!

12 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Things are getting smooth

  1. You are too cute, have i told you that lately?
    I’ve never put rum in my green monster but now i SO want too!
    And i’m definitely going to be putting more oats in my smoothies, i always forget!

  2. I am the same way! I am always just throwing stuff in..and always a little nervous when it’s ready to be eaten 🙂

  3. I love that you have a happy hour smoothie, that is a fantastic idea! Sadly I hardly ever drink smoothies after like 12pm so I probably shouldn’t be getting my happy hour on so early. 😉 Sorry about the storm making your weekend a bummer but I’m glad y’all are safe!

  4. You know how I feel about adding a splash of alcohol to things. It’s even acceptable during breakfast 🙂

  5. I’m not so good at recipes – following them OR writing them down. I’m definitely in the “taste it and if it isn’t right then throw something else in” camp. My favourite smoothie is a lot like your Happy Hour – minus the vodka. Ha! I love orange juice, frozen mangoes and spinach together. So good!

Leave a Reply

