Autumn Plea

Autumn where can you be?

You have given me a tease by blowing a little breeze my way.  Why must you give me 50* weather only to take it back and leave me in the 90’s?

Do you not know that the 90’s are no longer “cool”.  The cool thing would be to bring your lovely temperatures to me.  To finally run humidity out of the forecast.  Please let me have at least a few good hair days, can you???

 

source

I have visions of pumpkins, cranberries, and apples dancing in my head.  Dreams of greens galore!  Can you say turnip, collards, mustards.  Oh and lets not forget our beloved broccoli, cauliflower, and onions. 

source

Brussels sprouts fresh off their….um whatever you call that thing…..as opposed to frozen ones.  I greatly appreciate the people that provide us with frozen veggies, really I do, it’s just that I am longing for roasted Brussels sprouts.

source

Beets oh my!  I would give anything to have purple fingers again (no you can not remind me of that when I complain about purple nails)!

So Autumn I have taken the time to day to write a plea, it’s just a line or two….

Unfortunately Autumn you have decided not to arrive just yet.  Why I have no clue!

 072011 205 

You see I am impatient, just ask the hubster it’s true.  While I can’t enjoy the fresh veggies (locally) just yet, that will not stop me from enjoying all the flavors of you

072011 206

Autumn Granola

    • 3c old-fashioned oats
    • 1c walnut pieces
    • 1/2c shredded coconut
    • 2T molasses
    • 3/4t ground cinnamon
    • 1/4t ground ginger
    • 1/4t nutmeg
    • pinch cloves
    • 1/4 tsp. sea salt
    • 1/2c maple syrup 
    • 2T canned pumpkin
    • 2T coconut oil
    • 1/2c dried cranberries
    • 1/2c dried apricots, cut into chunks

Preheat oven to 300. Line baking sheet with parchment or spray baking sheet with clean cooking spray. Mix first 9 ingredients in large bowl. Stir maple syrup, pumpkin, and oil in saucepan over medium-low heat until smooth. Pour the syrup mixture over oat mixture; toss to coat; spread on baking sheet, and bake about 30 minutes. Stir every 10 minutes for even browning.  Mix in fruit.

072011 207

So Autumn please tell me where oh where have you been?

I think my friends would agree with me, we are so done with summer!  Can I get an amen?!

6 Comments

Filed under baking, Fruit, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Autumn Plea

  1. Bahaha, that was awesome! Autumn granola is such a good idea, especially when it involves pumpkin! And that picture of brussel sprouts just made me so giddy. I love most vegetables, but brussel sprouts are a whole new level of love.

  2. Hahaha I can sympathize with you, but I’m still soaking up this warmth! Fall seems to be taking it’s time, and I’m HOPING that means this winter will be mild. But for your sake and everyone else who wants fall to come (not me), hopefully it will do so soon. In the meantime, I’m still enjoying some tasty stone fruits. 😉

  3. Sam

    AMEN! i’m dying for a break from the heat. hopefully soon it will stick around for good 🙂

  4. Pingback: Back on Track w/ WIAW | Helen, Naturally!

Leave a Reply

