The slump

I tried to be good this morning.  Really I did!  It was all good until I went for the 3rd cup of coffee at work, with powdered cream….gasp I know right.  I am suppose to be doing the whole no processed, whole foods cleanse thing.  But I have a good reason. 

072011 251

You see I didn’t expect to go for that 3rd cup (yes I have two cups each morning).  Which means that I didn’t bring any almond milk with me to work today.  I just couldn’t seem to get going.  I think it is that clean eating slump that you experience when you give up all things processed, sugar, wine, beer, etc. 

Yeah, um wish I could look that good with my “slump”

You know that small period during the first week or two where you just feel drained.  But thankfully it only lasts a day or two.  If you are thinking of starting your own, this is normal.  Don’t give up, keep going, and you energy will be unbelievable in a few days 🙂

 072011 260 

I started my morning off right.  With a lovely bowl of protein grains.  I say grains because it is a mixture.  Can you guess what it is?  Take another look!

072011 261

That’s right – oats and quinoa.  I cooked up a batch of quinoa last night, enough to last for several servings.  That is how I like to cook my grains 🙂

Since starting my whole foods cleanse, and using my trusty little check list, I realized that I need to get more protein into my breakfasts.  The thought hit me this morning while I was adding my protein powder to my oats….throw in some of that quinoa from last night!

072011 262

Other than a slight difference in the taste of my morning bowl, you couldn’t even tell that it was in there!  Now of course if you are one to sweeten your oatmeal to dessert level then you wouldn’t be able to tell at all.  I on the other hand only add a few drops of stevia to mine.  At times I will have them plain.  I usually add sweetener if I am adding protein powder since I am using the plain pea powder at the moment.  I have to have a little sweetener with that.

Complete with chia seeds, flaxseed, protein powder, blueberries, pumpkin, cinnamon, nutmeg, stevia, peanut butter, and a splash of maple syrup on top.  Now is that a bowl of breakfast heaven or what?

Now if I can just keep the rest of my day going as well as this.  I am going to remember to drink an  extra bottle of water today to make up for the 3rd cup.  That works right?  You know drink water to make up for extra coffee, run an extra mile to make up for eating a slice of cake, etc.  No!  That doesn’t cancel out the consumption?  Oh well, that’s my motto and I’m not changing it 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Fruit, Uncategorized

4 responses to “The slump

  1. It’s okay to feel like you’re in a slump. I have those days even when I do eat extra healthy! Maybe it’s also the fact that it’s Thursday and we all just want it to be Friday already! Quinoa is an anytime of the day food if you ask me!

  2. I have many slump days…many many hahaha! It’s because I live off of no sleep 🙂
    And I love quinoa! Such a protein filled grain! I try and give it to my daughter, since she hates all foods, and I need her to get SOME protein! 🙂

Leave a Reply

