Slow cooker “bacon” flavored “baked” beans

Raise you hand if you are a fan of bacon…..(I have both raised)

Raise you hand if you are a fan of beans…….(yep still both raised)

Raise you hand if you are a fan of the slow cooker……(yep – two hands)

source

I know, I know….you are thinking who is this crazy lady, asking us this crazy question that she should obviously know the answer to.

Let me just say – I never claimed to NOT be crazy so just humor me with this will you?

Oh and p.s. don’t tell the hubster that I said I agree that I am crazy.  As far as he is concerned, I am not!  No matter what I do, ask, request, or how much I spend…..hello please send my package already crazy people…..to him I am not crazy.  I mean I have to have something to argue with him about, right? 

And no I will not argue about how much I spend on super secret package.  I make my own pay check mister.  I have my own bank account.  It was your idea to have separate accounts….so guess what? My money is my money, I can spend it how I see fit!

But back to this regularly scheduled post……

As I stated in yesterday’s post we had lunch at my brother’s house on Sunday.  It was for my niece’s baptism.  She is such a little cutie 🙂

blog photos 368

I was asked to bring baked beans.  So let’s think about this for a minute.  You want me – Helen – the one that is late for everything to cook a dish.  Like really cook! 

The girl that takes more than an hour to dress herself (yes this is true – but only if I am really dressing up).  The girl that has two very active little boys to dress.  The girl that has to make a thirty minute drive to get to your house, minimum, and you want me to be there by 10:30…..yeah cooking “ain’t” happening!

Oh and I am in a house full of meat eaters!  Like meat and potato eaters, and yes we had chicken legs there the size of my thigh…..come on people how many times do I have to preach to you about the steroids for you to stop eating it! 

So how do I get bacon flavor into beans without actual bacon????  Liquid Smoke!

072011 281 

  • 3 cans navy beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 3 cloves roasted garlic
  • 3T molasses
  • 3T maple syrup
  • 2T yellow mustard
  • 1-2T liquid smoke, depending on how intense you want the flavor
  • 1T Worcestershire sauce
  • 2/3c ketchup (make sure it doesn’t contain high fructose corn syrup)
  • 1/3c vegetable broth
  • 1/2t chili powder
  • 1t sea salt
  • 1 small can tomato sauce

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker, turn on high for 4 hours, eat and enjoy!

072011 282

I enjoyed mine as is for lunch at the cookout, but later that night I added in some couscous that I had in the fridge.  A perfect, balanced dinner!  Have a salad along side the beans and you will have your carbs, protein, and veggies all wrapped up in one 🙂 

Happy girl, happy girl!

7 Comments

Filed under CrOcKpOt, DINNER, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Slow cooker “bacon” flavored “baked” beans

  1. Oh my GOODNESS!!! So the ONE thing I kind of miss, while being a vegetarian, is bacon. Not that I want to eat bacon, but I like the smell. And from what I remember, I think I kind of liked the taste.

    I’m SO trying this!

  2. I’ve never had navy beans…I just may have to give them a whirl!

    Oh, and I totally have 2 hands way way up for crockpot love!

Leave a Reply

