His chili, my way

I had two cravings this week.  Both of which I was able to enjoy.  Both that left the hubster looking at me strangely.  But when a girl has a craving, a girl has a craving!

 072011 287    

Craving numero uno – Hot Chocolate, my way!

  • 1/2c coconut milk
  • 1/2c almond milk
  • 1T cocoa powder
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1T nut butter of choice (I used dark chocolate dreams)
  • 1T chocolate chips
  • few marshmallows

Place both milk in a sauce pan to heat.  Pour into a blender, add the cocoa powder, stevia, nut butter, and the chocolate chips.  Blend until smooth.  Place the hot chocolate back into a mug and garnish with more chocolate chips & marshmallows.

072011 288

No I am not crazy, at least not today.  No I do not have my seasons mixed up.  Hello I live in Louisiana.  You can’t mix up your seasons in this state.  We only have one.  It is called beyond summer!

072011 289

But like I said when a girl has a craving…..

Craving numero dos – chili, my way!

072011 292

Now you all know how things go in my house.  The hubster wants (me) meat. 

okay side note……I totally typed “me” in as opposed to meat.  When I went back to proofread I  fell out of my chair laughing.  So I had to leave the me in there 🙂

I don’t buy meat.  So usually we don’t eat meat.  I knew that this would be a challenge when it came to making chili.  Give him a vegetable chili, and I guarantee he will throw it at me.  Or at least in the garbage.  So I did what any good wife would do. 

Nope I didn’t run out and buy ground meat.  I bought meat crumbles.  As in meat substitute crumbles.  He will never know!

072011 294

His Chili, My Way

  • 1 pkg meat crumbles ( I used morning star)
  • 1 can chili ready diced tomatoes
  • 2 small cans tomato sauce
  • 1 can beans drained & rinsed
  • 1/3c vegetable broth
  • 1 small onion diced
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 3T chili powder
  • 1T ground cumin
  • 1/2t salt
  • 1-2T liquid smoke

Place all ingredients into a slow cooker.  Cook on low if you are leaving this on all day.  If you are home you can cook on high for around 3-4 hours. 

I prepared everything the night before in the crock pot bowl, and then placed it in the refrigerator overnight.  This saved me time in the morning.  I simply placed the bowl into the heating part of the slow cooker and turned it on!

072011 293

Serve with rice, corn bread, or my favorite way – with a baked sweet potato.

7 Comments

Filed under CrOcKpOt, DINNER, Uncategorized

7 responses to “His chili, my way

  1. I didn’t realize that you don’t buy meat! I have been tricking my hubs into some great meatless meals yesterday, but we are definitely not prepared to go meat free. That chili looks so good, I love me a good bowl of chili!

  2. Did he eat it, or throw it? 🙂

    The weather is cooler here and that hot chocolate looks yummy!

  3. You don’t buy meat?! How did I not know that? Love the idea of adding peanut butter to hot chocolate and serving chili over a sweet potato. I’ve got to remember both of those for next time!

  4. Yum! I love hot chocolate, especially in the winter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

