Naturally Spice

Yo, I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really
really really wanna zigazig ha.

Sorry, I got a little carried away.  I tend to do that all the time from time to time.  So I must say “happy Friday” to you all.  No I have not completely lost my mind yet!  Although I am close to that….can someone tell me where to find it?  You can’t!  Oh darn, because the hubster would have been thrilled for me to find it.  Considering that yesterday afternoon I have convinced him that it is totally gone.  I do not think that I will be able to convince him that I haven’t lost it…….but that is another story for another day – hopefully some day towards the end of next week 🙂

There I go again getting off task.  Yeah maybe I have ADD as opposed to OCD……let me check on that for you!  Today is my Friday!  That’s right folks no school/work tomorrow…..yippee!  But I do have to stay in these dang braces for another 3-4 months 😦  Which means that I have to go get my teeth cleaned tomorrow because I will have them on a while longer.  I was so hoping to have them off like in 1-2 months……sigh…..oh well.

But back to what you really, really want.  I have a request for the recipe for my stuffed won tons that were featured on my random pic post by the lovely Lauren of Lauren Loves Good Food.  Then the lovely Farrah of Fairy Healthy Life asked about the teriyaki chickpeas that were featured yesterday on WIAW, and since I love to give you guys what you really want – here goes!

072011 257

Mexican Bean Burger stuffed Wontons

  • 1 can black beans, rinsed & drained – divided
  • 1T Worcestershire sauce
  • 1T liquid smoke
  • 2T taco seasoning
  • small can tomato sauce
  • 1/4c broccoli slaw – processed in food processor
  • wonton wrappers
  1. preheat oven to 350
  2. mash half of the beans in a bowl.
  3. add the remaining ingredients and mix well
  4. heat the mixture on the stove in a small sauté pan until heated through
  5. place a small spoonful of the mixture in the middle of a wonton wrapper, fold over, brush with water or egg white.
  6. place in oven and bake until wontons are golden brown. 
  7. serve with salsa/guac for dipping 

072011 319

Teriyaki Chickpeas

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained & rinsed
  • 1/8c (more or less) of teriyaki sauce (read labels people – pick a natural, organic one)
  1. preheat oven to 400
  2. toss chickpeas and teriyaki sauce in a bowl to coat
  3. spray pan with non-stick spray
  4. bake in oven about 20 minutes, or until “crisp” – stirring occasionally

You can also use a homemade teriyaki sauce if you have a recipe that you really like.  I just happened to have a partial bottle in the fridge that needed to be used up.  Either way they are yummy 🙂

So there you go ladies.  A super easy, super quick, super yummy treat!  You can serve both items alone as a snack or with other items as part of a meal…..

No Donna, I haven’t forgotten about your request…..I am getting to the ballerina makeup very, very soon….like um tomorrow 🙂

As for the rest of you…..so tell me what you want what you really, really want!

Anyone know a good manager, I just may be the next spice girl 🙂

******today is your last chance to enter my birthday giveaway…..so head on over and enter***************

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Naturally Spice

  1. Sam

    you crack me up!!! yay for it being your friday 🙂

  2. fairyhealthylife

    You’re hilarious! Thanks I needed that! I sing 90’s songs all the time, and my hubby and girls just walk away from me!

    Well how simple is that recipe! Thanks!

  3. Oh, join the club. I honestly think that most bloggers fit into either the OCD or the ADD camp. I’m ADD all the way. Your wontons look interesting! I’ve never made wontons before…something to add to my list!

  4. Um, my girlfriend and I danced to the SG song in our elementary school talent show. We were awesome. And you are awesome for sharing the recipe! Can’t wait to try it AND the chickpeas!

Leave a Reply

