Accesories – a girl’s best friend

Let’s talk fashion today shall we?

source

I love fashion.  I love all things related to fashion.  One could say I am addicted, the hubster says that I am obsessed, I say that I am fashion sensible 🙂

One of my favorite things to do is to accessorize.  The right accessories can really make or break an outfit, but before we get into what accessory compliments what, let’s take a look at what accessories really are….

source

Fashion accessories are decorative items that supplement and complement clothing.  The typical items that are thought of when you want to accessorize are jewelry, handbags, belts, and scarves, but one can also accessorize with gloves, hats, wigs, headbands watches, sunglasses, pins, wraps, socks, stockings, and leggings. 

Accessories can add color and style to an outfit  They can be used to create a certain look, or to turn a drab item into something really pretty.  They can also be used to ease yourself into a new trend that you may want to try out.  I have been known to do this often.  For example, when animal prints first hit the scene I didn’t rush out and buy an animal print clothing item.  Instead I opted for a pair of shoes and a belt.  After pairing that with items, I realized that I really did like certain prints, which made me more comfortable to buy them.

source

One of my favorite items to accessorize with other than  shoes (hello that is an addiction I will gladly admit to) are scarves.  I love scarves.  I have several in a variety of colors, lengths, materials, etc.  Scarves can be worn year round with many outfits.  I also love to accessorize with jewelry.  Those three items (shoes, scarves, jewelry) are my main items I use to accessorize with.   

It is crucial to remember the golden rule in accessorizing – don’t overdo it.   That’s when the look falls apart!  Follow my three points when choosing accessories.

  • Choose a focal point (only one statement piece at a time).
  • Choose between large earrings or a large necklace, or any other pieces in close vicinity.
  • Refrain from exactly matching your accessories to your outfit or to each other

Of course the main thing to remember is to use your common sense.  Would you carry a hobo style bag and wear chunky platform shoes out if you are dressed in a cocktail dress?  Hopefully not!  A nice strappy sandal and clutch would be more appropriate.  The platforms and hobo bag would be better suited with jeans, a t-shirt, and a blazer 🙂

Now grab some accessory items out of your closet and start having fun pairing them with clothes.  Try a scarf with a casual dress.  Colored shoes with a neutral outfit, for example blue heels with ivory or cream pantsuit.  Think about the color wheel and pair contrasting colors together.  Or use paint cards for inspiration by pairing light shades with dark shades in the same color family.  A dark green earring with a light green top/skirt/dress.  The possibilities are endless. 

Just have fun!! 

Tell me, what are some of your favorite ways to accessorize?

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “Accesories – a girl’s best friend

  1. I love accesories! They really do make or break and outfit!

  2. I’m not always great at accessorizing. I love colourful scarves and chunky necklaces, but I tend to take them off and leave them trailing somewhere. I do think that it’s amazing what a difference a scarf can make. I’ve been known to wear jeans and long-sleeved t-shirt, and once I throw on a scarf, people compliment my outfit. Always makes me laugh, but I’m fashionably delayed.

  3. I’m horrible at accessorizing. I pretty much throw on some earrings and call it a day. I love the scarf look but can never figure out how to wrap them right, plus it generally just makes my chest look even bigger than it already is and that’s not what I need 🙂

  4. Missy

    I love jewelry – Chicos has the best in my opinion. I love their stuff!
    I also like scarves and of course, shoes and boots.

  5. fairyhealthylife

    I love using different purses, clutches and earrings to accesorize. It leaves people thinking you have a huge wardrobe of items!

  6. Scarves!!! I love love love scarves. They can totally add punch to an outfit!

  7. I am a scarf lady as well. I also go through phases with jewelery. I own a lot of necklaces but will wear the same one for weeks or months on end. I always wear the same silver hoops unless I am going out somewhere special 🙂

  8. I love accessories but I always end up being in a hurry in the mornings and just gravitate toward the same two or three pieces all the time! I do, however, LOVE scarves and have fun matching different ones to my outfits.

  9. Love accessorys!!!
    Scarves are my fav and i wear them all year round!
    Once i even wore a scarf to death valley in vegas 🙂
    Right now i have a big watch, big bright bracelet (with matching shoes of course!) and a bright belt to liven up my boring bankers outfit, lol!
    Great post hun 🙂

  10. Sam

    great tips!! i’ve been trying to remember to wear scarves more. i’m so frantic in the mornings, i always forget to accesorize 🙂

Leave a Reply

